ASU Online Library Guide
Need More Help?
ASU Directory
Help Center and Technical Support | 1-855-278-5080
Library Accessibility Services | 1-480-965-2600 or accessibilityservices@asu.edu
Interlibrary Loan | 1-480-965-3282 or ASU-ILL@asu.edu
About this Page
This page offers resources on citation tools to help you cite resources from your research. The tutorials listed here will teach you more about the ASU Library and how to use resources. This guide only skimmed the surface of what is available to you as an ASU student, so it is encouraged you keep exploring and learn more.
Citing Sources
Citing sources is an ethical practice required by the ASU's Academic Integrity policy. As a college student, you are expected to cite sources you quote, paraphrase, or otherwise use in your papers, reports, and presentations. The three most frequently used citation styles are APA, MLA, and Chicago. See the ASU Library: Citation Styles guide for more information on each style.
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - 7th Edition
by
ISBN: 9781433832161Publication date: 2019-10-01The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. Widely used in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields, this handbook features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting, in-text citations, and several reference examples. -
MLA Handbook
by
ISBN: 9781603295611Publication date: 2021-06-15The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide offering student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, paper formatting, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index. -
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
by
ISBN: 9780226287058Publication date: 2017-09-05The Chicago Manual of Style offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. Notes-Bibliography and Author-Date styles are featured, with guidance on in-text citations and bibliography list examples.
Additional Resources
- ASU Library LibGuide: Citation Styles: This page links to various style guides (APA, MLA, Chicago) and more resources that are recommended for learning the basics of proper citation formatting.
- ASU Tutoring: Offers a variety of services that are free to you as a student, including: Tutoring, Writing Tutoring, Academic Skills Tutoring, Supplemental Instruction, Graduate Writing Tutoring, and Graduate Statistics Tutoring.
- The Purdue Online Writing Lab (Purdue OWL): Many instructors refer to the free OWL website because it provides accurate and informative resources on writing and citation issues.
Library Tutorials and News
The following are places where you can learn more about research strategies, subject-specific resources, and other library happenings.
Tutorials
For information about general research skills, finding articles, citing sources, using databases, and more, ASU Library tutorials are videos and crash courses on how to conduct research better. Feel free to explore all of these topics on the Tutorial Page.
Library Guides
Library Guides, or LibGuides, are developed by librarians to teach students and researchers more about the resources available to them. This guide is a LibGuide! There are LibGuides specific to classes, subjects, resources, and more. You can explore all LibGuides here.
Library News
ASU Library has a news channel promoting virtual and in-person events, resources, and tools available to students. Keep up to date on The Library Channel.
Thank You!
This guide is a way to learn about the different resources available to you as an ASU Online student. At ASU Library, we are eager to help and support all students and researchers, whether it be for educational or leisure purposes. Don't hesitate to reach out to any of us through Ask a Librarian.
Happy Searching!