ASU Online Library Guide

E-books are an important subject to highlight outside of research databases and requesting materials. E-books give you more access to materials that are available to you for both educational and leisure purposes. On this page, we will discuss how to access e-books and highlight specific e-book packages.

Like with all other library resources, the Library One Search is the best way to find titles. If you want to find a specific title on the Simple Search, be sure to change the dropdown from "keyword" to "title" and that you search "All Resources" or "ASU Library Catalog." You can use quotation marks with the title to keep the exact phrase together. 

To limit search results to e-books only, on the right-hand side of the results page, you will see options to alter your search. You will want to:

• Refine your search by selecting "Full-Text Online"
• Limit content type by selecting "Books" or "Book Chapters"

Below highlights the e-book packages that are the major databases to search for e-books. There will also be reference e-book packages for books such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.

The ASU Library has several major e-book collections or electronic book packages:

• ProQuest Ebook Central: One of the largest e-book databases with various subjects. This has both leisure and educational resources. It is also mobile-friendly.
• eBooks Collection on EBSCOhost: Has a wide range of education resources and subjects for leisure. It is also mobile-friendly.
• Springerlink: Provides access to scientific documents from journals, books, reference works, and more.

ASU Library has licensed and provides access to thousands of online full-text or e-books. While the major e-book packages include a range of books and articles for research or leisure, this section includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, etc.

• Oxford English Dictionary (OED): Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the development of the English language.
• Gale eBooks: A searchable multidisciplinary collection of almanacs, encyclopedias, and specialized reference sources.
• Britannica Academic: An encyclopedia listing articles, illustrations, definitions, and websites. These materials are selected, rated, and reviewed by editors.
• Knovel: Integrates validated content, optimized search, and data analysis tools for engineers

Advance to the Media page to access free movies, music, images, and more!