ASU Online Library Guide

ASU Library provides access to The New York Times for current students, staff, and faculty. This complimentary access includes News, Cooking, Wirecutter, and more.

Visit our New York Times Group Pass library guide to learn how to activate your subscription and address troubleshooting. Keep in mind that you need to use your ASURite@asu.edu email, NOT your firstname.lastname@asu.edu email. Visit our Athletic library guide to learn how to activate The Athletic, which delivers in-depth sports coverage of your favorite teams and leagues.

ASU also provides access to The Wall Street Journal for all current students, staff, and faculty members. Visit this FAQ to learn more about activating this subscription, then go to the Wall Street Journal registration page.

Visit this FAQ to see a complete list of subscriptions available to activate, as well as instructions on how to access newspapers while researching.

Media includes the communication and dissemination of news, entertainment, data and educational information. Digital media sources at ASU include images, streaming video, and recordings including music and text. This section provides links to some of the major media resources available through ASU and to Library Guides with specialized information about the different genres. 

ASU Library provides access to several video streaming services. Below are the different databases and information on the types of videos they carry. Our Streaming Video Library Guide provides more information on streaming video resources available.

• Films on Demand - Digital Educational Video: A comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos. Thousands of videos cover a wide range of topics organized into broad subjects. These subjects are then further divided into narrower subjects. 
• Filmmakers Library Online: A well-known, highly respected distributor of issue-based documentaries. The titles in the collection cross nearly all academic disciplines. These titles educate students and researchers on thought-provoking issues, figures, and cultures.
• Ambrose Digital Streaming Video: Has over 700 educational videos on several topics, including science and history.
• Duke University Libraries: Distinctive digital collections from Duke's unique library and archival materials. These are good for teaching, learning, and research at Duke and worldwide.
• Kanopy: An on-demand streaming platform that offers documentaries, independent films, and training videos. Kanopy provides customizable functions including permalinks, captioning, transcription, and clip/playlist creation tools.

Listed below are several major music digital resources available to current ASU affiliates:

• Alexander Street American Music: Provides online audio recordings to teach American musical traditions. These include country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape-note singing.
• DRAM Database of Recorded American Music: Offers recordings from New World, Composers Recordings, and other labels. These include CD-quality audio, liner notes, and essays.
• Naxos Music Library: Holds the world´s largest online classical music library. Naxos offers streaming access to more than 143,000 CDs, with more than 2,223,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 600 new CDs are added to the library every month.

In addition to film streaming services and music, you also have access to images. These can be for browsing, or for use in a project or presentation.

• Creative Commons Media Search: Allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Includes Flickr, Google Images, Open Clip Art Library, and more.
• AP Newsroom Photo Digital Archive: Provides access to a wide range of images and videos.
• Artstor Collections (via JSTOR): Provides a complete image resource in a wide array of subjects. These images add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline. 

Go to the Subject Librarian page to find the librarian who supports your specific subject area.