ASU Online Library Guide
Need More Help?
ASU Directory
Help Center and Technical Support | 1-855-278-5080
Library Accessibility Services | 1-480-965-2600 or accessibilityservices@asu.edu
Interlibrary Loan | 1-480-965-3282 or ASU-ILL@asu.edu
What is a Research Database?
Library One Search is on the ASU Library homepage. Library One Search brings up all library materials, including physical and digital resources. Articles are one of the most common digital resources you will find on Library One Search. Research databases offer access to articles that are generally not free on the internet. These include magazine and scholarly journal articles.
You will need your ASURITE ID and password to access ASU Library research databases.
To learn more about research databases and why you should use them, view this tutorial:
Research Tools
There are three main ways to access research databases:
- A-Z Databases List: This lists all the research databases available through ASU Library. You can find databases alphabetically, by subject, by database/source type, or by a search. You can search articles and citations from newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and more.
- Library One Search: This tool will pull up all materials and resources in the ASU Library. It even includes an option to search the Library Catalog only.
- WorldCat: WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries aim to provide access to their web resources, where most people start their search for information.
ASU Library has additional tutorials and information to improve research skills. These pages from our First-Year Composition guide offer tips for researching:
- Identify Your Topic
- Develop Your Research Question
- Find Background Information
- Use Search Strategies
- Evaluate What You Find
To verify whether or not you have a peer-reviewed article, use UlrichsWeb.
IMPORTANT!
When using any resource from the ASU Library or elsewhere, keep in mind that you must cite all your sources. This is so you comply with ASU's Academic Integrity. ASU Library has a guide with more information on citation styles. If you are unsure of which citation style to use, please check with your professor.
Multidisciplinary Research Dababases
-
Academic Search Ultimate
Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
-
Access World News
Full-text content from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and business magazines, providing diverse viewpoints on local and global issues.
-
Dissertations & Theses GlobalA vast collection of full-text dissertations and theses, with millions of searchable citations from 1861 to today. Over a million PDFs are available for download. The database offers full text for most works since 1997 and extensive coverage of older theses, including PQDT UK & Ireland.
-
Nexis Uni
Find full text of various newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, biographies, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, and news transcripts.
-
Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data on markets, industries, media, business, finance, politics, population, opinion, lifestyles and a wide variety of other areas of interest. Provides ready-made charts, graphs, and tables. Includes AI assistant: ResearchAI
Start Searching!
Navigating to the next page...
Go to the Library Accounts and Borrowing Materials page to learn more about how to request, borrow, and return ASU Library materials.