Login to LibApps

Children's & Young Adult Literature: Book Selection Tools

Guide for library and Internet research resources about children's and young adult literature.

Book Selection Tools

Following is a select list of journals for finding reviews of children's and young adult books.

 

 

Horn Book Magazine
also in Literature Resource Center
Also  Z1037 .A1 A15

Library Journal
also  Z671 .L7

 

Searching the Catalog for Books

 

Search the Library Catalog to find books and e-books about children's and young adult books.  You can search using keywords or you can use these subjects:
 

Children's literature -- Bibliography

Young adult literature, American -- Bibliography

Children's literature, American -- Bibliography

Minorities -- United States -- Juvenile literature -- Bibliography

African Americans -- Juvenile literature -- Bibliography

Asian Americans -- Juvenile literature -- Bibliography

Hispanic Americans -- Juvenile literature -- Bibliography

Indians of North America -- Juvenile literature -- Bibliography

 


"Best" Book Lists

Many books have been published listing the 'best' titles in selected subject areas, genres or for use with traget groups [e.g. age, reading level, ethnicity etc.]. A selected list of those titles are listed below.  In addtion to single books a database for identifying titles is also listed. 

 

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

100 Best Books for Children
Z1037 .S575 2004 Polytech Reference

A to Zoo : Subject Access to Children's Picture Books
Z1037 .L715 2006 Hayden Stacks Multiple editions & locations also

Across Cultures : A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children
Z1037 .E19 2007 Hayden Stacks

Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6
Z1037 .G48 2015 Hayden Stacks 

Best Books for Children: Preschool Through Grade 6
Z1037 .G48 2006 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Best Books for Children, Supplement to the 8th edition: Preschool Through Grade 6
Z1037 .G4815 2007 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Best Books for High School Readers, 9-12 
Z1037 /G4816 2013 Hayden Stacks

Best Books for High School Readers: Grades 9-12
Z1037 .G4816 2004 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers: Grade 6-9
Z1037 .G482 2013 Hayden Stacks

Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers: Grades 6-9  
Z1037 .G482 2004  Hayden Stacks

Best of Latino Heritage, 1996-2002: a Guide to the Best Juvenile Books About Latino People and Cultures
F1408 .S356 2003 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Beyond Picture Books: Subject Access to Best Books for Beginning Readers
PN1009 .A1 B377 2008 Hayden Stacks

Best Books for Young Adults
PN1009 .A1 C377 2000 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Best Books for Young Adults 3rd ed.
PN1009 .A1 C37 2007 Hayden Stacks

Best Books for Young Teen Readers, Grades 7 to 10
Z1037 .B55 2000 Hayden Stacks

Bilingual Children's Books in English and Spanish: An Annotated Bibliography, 1942 Through 2001
Z1037.7 .D36 2003 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Black History in the Pages of Children's Literature
PS173 .N4 C37 2008 Hayden Stacks

Crossing Boundaries With Children's Books
Z1037 .A1 C825 2006 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Fantasy Literature for Children and Young Adults: a Comprehensive Guide
Z1037 .L97 2005 Hayden Stacks, Polytech Reference, West Stacks

Hearing All the Voices: Multicultural Books for Adolescents
Z1037 .A1 D18 2002 West Stacks

Kaleidoscope: A Multicultural Booklist for Grades K-8
E184 .A1 K3 2003 West Stacks earlier editions also in multiple locations

Multicultural Picturebooks: Art for Illuminating Our World
Z1037 .M267 2005 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks

Librarian

Bee Gallegos's picture
Bee Gallegos
Specialties: History, Education, Children's & Young Adult Literature, Educational Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Contact:
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
602-543-8509

Hours and Locations