Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Children's & Young Adult Literature

Guide for library and Internet research resources about children's and young adult literature.

Aaron Shepard's World of Stories
Offers retellings of folktales, fairy tales, tall tales, myths, legends, magical tales, and sacred stories, plus original fables, humor, fantasy, and historical fiction all by Aaron Shepard.

Children's Book Online: the Rosetta Project
"the largest collection of illustrated antique books on line..."

Discovering Children's Books (British Library)
Collection devoted to  historic children’s literature from medieval fables to contemporary picture books. highlights include original manuscripts, artworks, poems, interviews, drafts and notebooks by renowned authors and illustrators. It brings together children’s literature from four major cultural institutions: the British Library, Seven Stories—The National Centre for Children’s Books, the Bodleian Libraries, and the Victoria and Albert Museum. 

Gateway to the Classics
Online collection of classic literature for children and the young adults. Contains books from the Baldwin Online Children's Project, a comprehensive collection of literature for children that is in the public domain in the United States including works published before 1923.

Global Digital Library 
Part of The Global Book Alliance, an international effort working to transform book development, procurement and distribution to ensure that no child is without books. There are numerous full-text books from around the world. 

International Children's Digital Library: A Library for the World's Children
A collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.  

Library of Congress - Children's Books Selections
This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress published in the United States and England before 1924. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. 

Literature for Children (Florida PALMM Project)
Literature for Children is a collection of the treasures of children's literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950. At the core of this Collection are books from the Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature, housed in the Department of Special Collections and Area Studies at the University of Florida.

Long Time Ago, Stories For Children
Author Rohini Chowdhury offers her retelling of classic children's stories.

Unite for Literacy
Selection of audio picture books. 

Gale in Context-Elementary Students (For Arizona residents)
Select "Literature" topic. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.