Children's and Young Adult Literature

Guide for library and Internet research resources about children's and young adult literature.

Book Review Sources

Booklist
Provides a guide to current print and non-print materials worthy of consideration for purchase by small and medium-sized public libraries and school library media centers.
Book Review Digest Retrospective (EBSCOhost database)
Book review digest retro provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included.
Books In Print
Provides record of in-print and forthcoming books published and distributed in the U.S. which are available to the general public or trade for purchase. Includes reviews for some books taken from various book review sources.
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Book
A journal dedicated to reviewing some of the top children's books in the country.
Children's BookWatch
Locate current book reviews or archived book reviews from the previous 5 years. Part of the Midwest Book Review site.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The database contains critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.
The Horn Book Magazine
Reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.
Kirkus Reviews
Publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Excellent source for literary information. Includes poetry, short stories, novels, drama and reviews for children & young adults. Also plot summaries, critical analysis, author portraits, literary images, and biographies of authors and illustrators. Includes full text of journals containing book reviews and literary criticism relevant to children's and young adult literature (e.g. BookList, Horn Book Magazine).
Publisher's Weekly
Current reviews of children's books. The trade journal of the publishing industry - does not typically include critical reviews.
School Library Journal
The most complete provider of news, information and reviews for librarians, media specialists and teachers who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries.

Book Selection Tools

Following is a select list of journals for finding reviews of children's and young adult books.

"Best" Book Lists

Many books have been published listing the 'best' titles in selected subject areas, genres or for use with target groups [e.g. age, reading level, ethnicity etc.]. A selected list of those titles are listed below. In addition to single books a database for identifying titles is also listed. Search ASU Library catalog for additional "best" titles.