Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Children's & Young Adult Literature

Guide for library and Internet research resources about children's and young adult literature.

About This Guide

The Children's & Young Adult Literature Guide is designed to assist students, faculty and other researchers in identifying and locating resources relevant to children's & young adult literature. Resources include physical collections in the ASU Library, online databases and other resources and free internet sources. 

Children's & Young Adult Literature Collections in ASU Library

The ASU Library collects children's and young adult books in support of education students and faculty in courses and/or doing research. There are collections on 3 campuses (Polytechnic campus Library, Hayden & Noble Library on the Tempe campus and  Fletcher Library on the West campus). The majority of books are in the High Density Collection. Each collection has books focusing on different ages and genres.

The sub-areas within the curriculum collection include non-fiction with Dewey Decimal call numbers, within the Dewey section, books that are biographies have a call number of 92; picture books [Easy]; fiction books [FIC]; books in other languages. 

Fletcher Library has also grouped graphic novels for easy location. These titles are largely in one call number within the non-fiction collection but there are titles in other areas so this assists the student in locating these graphic titles.

Each ASU Library with a collection has a wide range of titles for the broad spectrum of users but as of 2010 the Hayden Library focus is on young adult books while Fletcher Library focuses on children's books.

 

To locate books within the libraries search the Library catalog using the suggestions listed under the tab in this guide: Finding Books.

The Child Drama Collection contains materials that document the international history of theater for youth from the 16th to the 21st centuries. It is the largest theater for youth repository in the world, containing over 9,000 books, 292 periodical titles, 1,500 audio-visual media, and 3,500 linear feet of manuscript materials.  

Library Search Engines

Library One Search  

Find most ASU Library books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!
To find books, click on Advanced Search and select Books under Material Type. 

Google Scholar ( via ASU Library)
Works like a regular Google search but searches for scholarly information found in books, book chapters, journals and reports. By linking to Google Scholar via the library home page you can access the full-text made available.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.