This is the "Home" page of the "Southeast Asia Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Print ResourcesReference Resources
Image and Video CollectionsOnline Journals, e-Books, and DatabasesOnline News Sources
English Language Publications Part IEthnobotany, journals, News Bulletins, Newspapers and Traditional Music Part IFrench, Russian, Chinese and Pali Language Publications Part ILao Language Publications Part IMaps Part VPhotographs and Slides Part III and DVDs Part IVSubject Files Part II
SGS 494
Admin Sign In 

Southeast Asia Studies  Tags: asian_studies  

Library research guide for Southeast Asia Collection
Last update: Feb 02nd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=7105  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Association of Southeast Asian Nations


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Spotlight on Digital Collections

Digital Library of Lao Manuscripts contains approximately 12,000 covering a broad geogrpahical area and historical timeframe. Collaborating institutions are the National Library of Laos, the University of Passau, and the Staatsbibliotek zu Berlin PreuBischer Kulturbesitz.

Then and Now: Historical Photographs of Cambodia, this project linked photos from the Mimijac Palgen Photo Collection (from the 1950s and 60s) with photos of the same locations from 2007.

The Mimijac Palgen Photo Collection provides photos from the 1950s and 60s in Cambodia from royal ceremonies to everyday life. The Collection is housed in Hayden Library's Special Collections Department at Arizona State University.

 

 
 

Southeast Asia Resources

The Arizona State University Libraries currently maintain an extensive Southeast Asia collection both in western languages and in the languages of Southeast Asia. Intensive collection development began in 1989 with the collection being built to support university and non-campus community interests in Southeast Asia and Southeast Asian area studies. The focus of collection development is on the curriculum and research needs  to support undergraduate studies in Southeast Asian languages, cultures, history, geography, political science and religion as well as working to satisfy the demands of faculty and graduate student research, teaching and publication. The Southeast Asian language portion of the collection is housed on the lower level map(.pdf) of Charles Trumbull Hayden Library adjacent to the East Asian Collection. The collection also includes western language material shelved throughout the University Libraries' system, and a serial collection housed in Current Periodicals.

The Southeast Asia Subject Librarian collects library material and helps provide public access or service to information, primarily in western languages and in the Southeast Asian languages taught at the University. These languages are Thai, Vietnamese, and Indonesian. Other Southeast Asian languages represented in the Libraries' collection on a smaller scale are Lao, Khmer, Burmese, Hmong, and Tagalog. The Special Collections Library, also on the second floor of Hayden Library houses several special collections dealing with Southeast Asia, including the Agnese Nelms Haury Collection on Burma, the William Sage Collection on Laos, and the Mimijac Palgen Cambodian Photograph Collection. If you need assistence with collections in the Special Collections Library email archives@asu.edu. Included in the Museum of Anthropology collections is William Sage's collection of ethnographic artifacts collected in Laos during his years working in that country.

The Arizona State University Libraries work cooperatively with other Southeast Asian library collections in the United States through CORMOSEA, the professional organization for Southeast Asian Studies librarians, and the Southeast Asia Microform Project of the Center for Research Libraries. 

 

 

Catalog Search


Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles:



 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageRalph Gabbard
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Hayden Library
Tempe campus
Office C1U
(480) 765-0620
Send Email

Subjects:
Southeast Asian Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait