Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


MKT 302 Applied Marketing Management & Leadership

MKT 302 - Writing a Marketing Plan Assignment

News Sources

Each team member should do a local paper, the WSJ or FT, and a news program.

 

One Local Newspaper - Az Republic, East Valley Tribune, Other Arizona Newspapers
    ASU's full text ejournal subscriptions to Arizona
    newspapers via Access World News, Ethnic Newswatch, American Indian Newspapers, and Arizona Republic

Wall Street Journal
    free public edition online or sign up for ASU's web site access
    ASU's full text ejournal subscription

Financial Times (London)
    free public edition online
    ASU's full text ejournal access

One News Program - (any one will do, but remember their point of view bias - conservative, liberal, non-US, etc.)

    TV/Cable/Internet: CNN, Fox News, MSNBC, local TV news shows, Telemundo, Univision,  and Television News Archive

    Radio/Internet:  Public Radio, BBC News (radio)

One of the following (Sunday Edition preferred). Looking at these will provide you with a broader perspective of what is happening nationwide in your industry, economically, cultural and social trends, and in the government.

 

New York Times
free public edition online or ASU's web site access
ASU's full text ejournal subscription

Washington Post
free public edition online
ASU's full text ejournal subscription

Christian Science Monitor
free public edition online
ASU's full text ejournal subscription

Chicago Tribune
free public edition online
ASU's full Text ejournal subscription

Los Angeles Times
free public edition online
ASU's full text ejournal subscription

Times (London)
free public edition online
ASU's full text ejournal subscription


 

If you find that you need to research an older event, please use these historical sources:

   ABI/INFORM Complete 1923-

   Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective 1913-1983

   Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2014

   Los Angeles Times, 1985+

   ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2014

   ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 2002 

   Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

   Times (London) Digital Archives, 1785-2009

 

There are several key trade magazines that you need to read daily (via RSS or email service)

Advertising Age -- You can specify which of the 4 or 5 daily newsletters to get. These do usually have the latest ad campaigns or agency changes (new directions in marketing are planned) The latest commercials and which have gone viral. You also get changes in key officers and executives, also indicators of marketing/advertising trend changes. We get the full text from aggregators, not directly from the magazine, so sign up for the newsletters directly with the Ad Age web site.

emarketer.com -- This is a commerical service to which ASU Library does not subscribe. However, they do put out a daily newsletter on ecommerce trends. These articles are free and often provide generational or mobile trends.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.