Bioengineering
Introduction
Finding journal articles is essential when researching the literature for engineering topics. The following resources find journal articles, and in some cases, newspaper articles, book chapters, conference papers, and dissertation, too. Use these "one search" options when trying to shift through a lot of material - it's much more efficient than browsing journals or searching through each publisher's website, one-at-a-time.
How to Find Articles
Indexing and Abstracting databases allow you to cover thousands of journal articles with just one search. Some of these databases will also cover newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters and/or technical reports. So don't waste time guessing what journals will have articles on your topic or searching just one journal at a time.
If you are an undergraduate but not majoring in engineering, use:
Library One SearchA good place to start for just about any search. Once you get a list of results, use the CONTENT TYPE limiter in the left-hand column to restrict the answers to just JOURNAL ARTICLES. You may also use the limiter near the top of the left-hand column to restrict the answers to SCHOLARLY/PEER_REVIEWED journals, if appropriate. To see the full text of an article, click on either the TITLE of the article or the link that says FULL TEXT ONLINE.
Academic Search PremierExcellent multi-disciplinary database covering journal articles from all subject areas. On the results page, in the left-hand (Refine Results) column, use the LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY (PEER-REVIEWED) JOURNALS, if appropriate. To get the full text of the article, click on either the PDF or HTML full text link/icon or click on the "Get It @ ASU" button. Online tutorials are available.
Applied Science & Business RetrospectiveUse this database if looking for articles on a historical science, engineering or industry topic, especially those contemporary to the event. Covers both scholarly journals and trade magazines. For search results, in the left-hand (Refine Results) column, use the LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY (PEER-REVIEWED) JOURNALS, if appropriate. To get the full text of the article, click on either the PDF or HTML full text link/icon or click on the "Get It @ ASU" button. Online tutorials are available
For faculty, graduate students and undergraduate engineering majors, use:
EI Compendex/InspecUse these databases to find computing, engineering, manufacturing, physics, and technical information. Coverage goes back to 1884 and includes some conference papers, patents and trade magazines in addition to journal articles. Use either the Full Text or Get It @ ASU buttons to get to the document. Online tutorials are available
ABI/InformUse this database to find industry information. Coverage includes business journals, trade magazines and newspapers. Note: Summaries of market reports are included but the full reports are NOT available. See the section on this guide for "Resources -> Industry Information" for where market reports may be found. Use either the Full Text or Get It @ ASU buttons to get to the document. Online tutorials are available.
Google ScholarUse this database to find journal articles and possibly books and patents on a topic. Especially useful for interdisciplinary topics and for finding information that may located within the article's text (rather than in title or abstract). User has little or no control over searching and refinement functions. To get to the full text, either click on the document title or use the "Get It @ ASU" link.
PubMedUse this database to find journal articles, systematic reviews and meta-analyses from the health sciences area. Use either the Full Text or Get It @ ASU buttons to get to the document. Online tutorials are available."
SciFinderUse this database to find information about chemicals, pharmaceuticals, materials and other types of substances. "Research Topic" searching covers journal articles, book chapters, patents, dissertations and conference papers for all areas of pure and applied chemistry. Other sections available for finding reactions, property data, and chemical suppliers. Use the "Links to Other Sources" to get to the document. Online tutorials are available.
ScopusUse this database to find journal articles, conference papers and book chapters on a topic. Database is interdisciplinary and includes citation data and analysis. Use either the Full Text or Get It @ ASU buttons to get to the document. Online tutorials are available.
Web of ScienceUse this interdisciplinary database to track "who is citing whom". The CITED REFERENCE search provides a truer citation count than the BASIC SEARCH as CITED REF pulls out the variant ways the item has been cited. Use BASIC SEARCH to find articles by keywords; coverage is for journal articles only. Use the FULL TEXT or GET IT @ ASU button to see the full article. Online tutorials are available.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
