Southeast Asian Studies
Need more help?
Association of Southeast Asian Nations
Spotlight on Digital Collections
Digital Library of Lao Manuscripts contains approximately 12,000 items covering a broad geogrpahical area and historical timeframe. Collaborating institutions are the National Library of Laos, the University of Passau, and the Staatsbibliotek zu Berlin PreuBischer Kulturbesitz.
Digital Library of Northern Thai Manuscripts In addition to local texts from the Theravada Buddhist tradition, there is a wealth of indigenous literature and historical writings, as well as works pertaining to social relations, customary law, astrology, magic, mythology and rituals, grammar and lexicography, as well as poetry and epic stories, folk tales and romances.
Then and Now: Historical Photographs of Cambodia, this project linked photos from the Mimijac Palgen Photo Collection (from the 1950s and 60s) with photos of the same locations from 2007.
The Mimijac Palgen Photo Collection provides photos from the 1950s and 60s in Cambodia from royal ceremonies to everyday life. The Collection is housed in Hayden Library's Special Collections Department at Arizona State University.
William W. Sage Collection contains photos from Mr. Sage's time in Laos from 1964-74.
Online Journals and resources
Southeast Asia Resources
The Arizona State University Libraries currently maintain an extensive Southeast Asia collection both in western languages and in the languages of Southeast Asia. Languages collected by ASU Library include Thai, Vietnamese, and Indonesian. Other Southeast Asian languages represented in the Libraries' collection on a smaller scale are Lao, Khmer, Burmese, Hmong, and Tagalog. The Southeast Asian language portion of the collection is housed on the lower level map(.pdf) of Charles Trumbull Hayden Library adjacent to the East Asian Collection.
The Special Collections Library, also on the fourth floor of Hayden Library houses several special collections dealing with Southeast Asia, including the Agnese Nelms Haury Collection on Burma, the William Sage Collection on Laos, and the Mimijac Palgen Cambodian Photograph Collection. If you need assistence with collections in the Special Collections Library email archives@asu.edu. Included in the Museum of Anthropology collections is William Sage's collection of ethnographic artifacts collected in Laos during his years working in that country.
The Arizona State University Libraries work cooperatively with other Southeast Asian library collections in the United States through CORMOSEA, the professional organization for Southeast Asian Studies librarians, and the Southeast Asia Microform Project of the Center for Research Libraries.
Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies is the website of a NGO. It's mission is to strengthen strategic intervention into violent conflict with the overall aim of fostering sustainable peace in the Asia region. It offers free download of its books and reports.
Videos and Movies
Memory as resistance: Grandma Kong Defending her Village (20 mins)
Library One Search
Additional "Library One Search" Pages
For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser.
Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
