Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Online Resources

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2d edition; 29 volumes); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes); The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2d edition; 3 volumes); The Oxford Dictionary of Music; and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together encyclopedias and scholarly reference titles from many of Oxford University Press language and subject reference works, into a single cross-searchable resource. Oxford Reference contains all content currently available on Oxford Reference Online and the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.