Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Online Resources

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.

Streaming Audio and Video (ASU Users)

American Song (ASU Users)

American Song is a streaming online music database and fully searchable resource. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.  Liner notes to all the albums are included in PDF format.

 

Classical Music Library (ASU Users)

Classical Music Library is a streaming online music database and fully searchable classical music resource.  It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings sourced from many labels including EMI and Hyperion.

 

DRAM - Database of Recorded American Music (ASU Users)

The Database of Recorded American Music offers streaming access to 1,500+ cds, including liner notes, for a wide range of American musical styles ranging from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, and electronic music.

 

Films On Demand (ASU Users)

Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality educational video and multimedia programs for schools, colleges, libraries, the medical community, and other institutions. With more than 12,000 titles from some of the world's best producers FMG provides an unparalleled choice of topics and a multifaceted content delivery approach that includes DVD, Digital and VHS. Musical categories include music appreciation, music history, and world music.

 

 

Naxos Music Library (ASU Users)

Naxos Music Library, an online music listening service, is a comprehensive collection of classical music. It includes the complete Naxos,Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.

   

Opera in Video (ASU Users)

A streaming video database that will contain approximately 250 important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

 

Smithsonian Global Sound (ASU Users)

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a streaming online music database and fully searchable resource.   Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, it provides an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

 

 

 
Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.