Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Online Resources

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives: Primary Source Material from 18th & 19th Century Periodicals (ASU Users)

Accessible Archives was founded in 1990 to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only on microfilm. In pursuit of this vision, primary source material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times, and has been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy.  The database provides full text access to the following collections/journals/newspapers:  African American Newspapers (19th Century); American County Histories to 1900; The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865); Godey`s Lady`s Book (1830-1885): The Liberator (1831-1865); The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800); The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County (1809-1870); The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (1819-1870); and The South Carolina Gazette (1732-1751).

  

Codices Electronici Sangallenses

The purpose of the “Codices Electronici Sangallenses” is to provide access to the medieval codices in the Abbey Library of St. Gallen by creating a virtual library.  At the present time (2008), the virtual library contains 144 manuscripts.

  

Codici Electronici Ecclesiae Coloniensis

The CEEC project is a digital repository of the medieval manuscript holdings of the Episcopal and Cathedral Library of Cologne.  As the name states, the library consists in fact of two libraries, the Episcopal Library and the Cathedral Library, with the oldest volume dating back to 590/604. To view the site in English, click on the “optionen tab” on the home page and then select the English radio button.

 

Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi

A dictionary of Medieval Latin musical terminology to the end of the 15th century.

 

Saggi musicali italiani: A Database for Texts on Music Theory and Aesthetics (CHMTL, Indiana University)

Saggi musicali italiani is designed to extend the Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum and to continue the endeavor of capturing all texts on music theory and aesthetics in electronic form. It focuses first and foremost on the major treatises written in Italian, allowing them to be downloaded, browsed, and searched. The database will eventually comprise all printed materials from the Renaissance to the present.

 

Texts on Music in English from the Medieval and Early Modern Eras (CHMTL, Indiana University)

This database, initiated and run by Peter M. Lefferts is designed to extend the Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum and to continue the endeavor of capturing all texts on music theory and aesthetics in electronic form.  Texts on Music in English focuses on major treatises written in English, allowing them to be downloaded and browsed. The database will eventually comprise all relevant manuscript and printed materials written in English from the Middle Ages through the seventeenth century.

 

Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (Indiana University)

The Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (TML) is an evolving database of the entire corpus of Latin music theory written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. It complements but does not duplicate the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG), Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL), Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL), and similar projects such as the saggi musicali italiani (SMI).

  

TMIWeb (University of Utrecht)

TmiWeb is the online version of Thesaurus musicarum italicarum, an electronic corpus of Italian music treatises from the Renaissance and early Baroque. It contains the works of two of Italy’s most important authors on music theory, Pietro Aaron (c. 1480-c.1545) and Gioseffo Zarlino (1570-1590), as well as to a number of writings by their contemporaries. Nearly 30 works are online on TmiWeb in a full-text, searchable multimedia edition.

  

Virtual Music Library of Switzerland (e-codices)

The purpose of “e-codices” is to provide access to the medieval codices in Switzerland by creating a virtual library.  At the present time (2008), the virtual library contains 243 manuscripts from 14 different libraries. The virtual library will be continuously updated and extended.

  

Vivarium

Vivarium is the home of digitized manuscripts, art, rare books, photographs, and other resources from two Benedictine monastic and educational communities in central Minnesota. It is a searchable database delivering a variety of digital objects. Vivarium was created and is maintained by the Hill Museum & Manuscript Library.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.