Chemical Engineering
Introduction
Researching the literature for an engineering topic? Don't forget to look for books (or book chapters). The following resources will help you find books, and in some cases, book chapters. Each entry will also explain how to get the book, whether online or in print.
How to Find Books
Library One SearchEnter the title, author and/or keywords in the search box. Once you get a list of results, use the CONTENT TYPE limiter in the left-hand column to restrict the answers to just BOOKS/EBOOKS. If the book is available online, click on the FULL TEXT ONLINE link. If the book is available in print, you'll see the call number, library location and the checkout status of the book. You may go to the library that holds the book OR click on the book title, then click on the REQUEST link to have the book delivered to your preferred library.
Didn't find the book you wanted in Library One Search? Need more books on your topic than what's available in the ASU Library?
No problem, use these databases ...
Interlibrary LoanUse this resource to request books or articles that are currently not in the collection at the ASU Library, but may be borrowed from other partner libraries throughout the country.
WorldCatUse this database to search thousands of libraries in the U.S. and Canada. Enter the title, author, and/or keywords in the search box. Click on the TITLE to see what libraries have the book. If the ASU Library is listed, click on the BOOK link; if the ASU Library is NOT listed use our Interlibrary Loan service to request the item.
Google BooksUse this database if you want to search within the full text of books. To determine, if the ASU Library has the book, search the book title in "Library One Search". If the ASU Library does not have the book, request it via our Interlibrary Loan service.
Sample Chemical Engineering Books
Coulson's and Richardson's Chemical Engineering: Volume 1: Fluid Flow, Heat Transfer and Mass TransferPublication date: 1999"This volume covers the three main transport process of interest to chemical engineers - momentum transfer (fluid flow), heat transfer and mass transfer and the relationships between them... The topics covered form the theoretical basis for much of the material in the later volumes of the series."
Coulson's and Richardson's Chemical Engineering: Volume 2: Particle technology and separation processesPublication date: 2002"...covers the properties of particulate systems, including the character of individual particles and their behaviour in fluids. Sedimentation of particles, both singly and at high concentrations, flow in packed and fluidised beads and filtration are then examined. The latter part of the book deals with separation processes, such as distillation and gas absorption, which illustrate applications of the fundamental principles of mass transfer introduced in Chemical Engineering Volume 1... [also] several techniques of growing importance - adsorption, ion exchange, chromatographic and membrane separations, and process intensification - are described.
Coulson's & Richardson's Chemical Engineering: Volume 3: Chemical and Biochemical Reactors and Process ControlPublication date: 1994"[This volume] is devoted to reaction engineering (both chemical and biochemical), together with measurement and process control".
Chemical Engineering Design: principles, practice, and economics of plant and process designPublication date: 2012" Written for the Senior Design Course, and also suitable for introduction to chemical engineering courses, it covers the basics of unit operations and the latest aspects of process design, equipment selection, plant and operating economics, safety and loss prevention."
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
