Chemical Engineering
Processes: Encyclopedia Articles
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by ISBN: 9780471484967Also known as the "Kirk-Othmer", this encyclopedia focuses on the processes, techniques and materials used in the chemical industry. Articles are usually 20 pages or more in length. An article on process design is available as well as articles for the types of processes (ex., distillation, chemical vapor deposition, induction furnaces) and substances (ex., petroleum refinery processes, ceramic processing, vinyl chloride polymers). Economic data, when given, is generally out-of-date.
Encyclopedias are always a great place to start your research if you are less than an expert on the topic. Not only will these articles summarize the topic for you, they will also refer to other sources of information (see their reference list at the end of the article).
Processes: Handbooks
Handbooks summarize the basic knowledge of a particular field or subject. Handbooks are a great place to find not only summaries of a topic but also facts, statistics, formulas and other information about the subject. Below are listed a database (Knovel) that can search the full text of many engineering handbooks and a list of specific handbooks that you may find helpful.
KnovelThe Knovel database contains the full text of over 5,000 handbooks, data compilations, and encyclopedias in the sciences and engineering, and includes a section specifically on chemical engineering. Use the search box on the database's main page to search through the full text of the handbooks OR on the navigation bar, click on "Browse" and then select "Chemistry & Chemical Engineering" to see a list of the specific titles within that section.
Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 0824753623Publication date: 2009"Each chapter provides a clear review of basic information, case examples, and references to additional, more in-depth information."
Chemical Engineering Design by ISBN: 0080966594Publication date: 2012"Covers the basics of unit operations and the latest aspects of process design, equipment selection, plant and operating economics, safety and loss prevention."
Chemical Process Equipment by ISBN: 0123725062Publication date: 2009Includes "information on the selection, sizing and operation of process equipment ... emphasizes common real-world equipment design ... focuses on maximizing performance."
Chemical Reactor Design, Optimization, and Scaleup by ISBN: 0470105259Publication date: 2008"Practitioners are a major audience for [this book] ... [it is] terse and somewhat more advanced in its level of treatment than is the current U.S. standard [for undergraduate education]. Its goal is less to train students in the qualitative understanding of existing solutions than to prepare them for the solution of new problems. The reader should be prepared to work out the details of some examples rather than expect a complete solution."
Engineering of Chemical Reactions by ISBN: 0195169255Publication date: 2005"The first seven chapters cover such fundamentals as multiple reactions, energy management, and catalytic processes. The final five chapters explore more advanced topics including environmental, polymer, solids processing, biological, and combustion reactions."
Handbook of Chemical Processing Equipment by ISBN: 0750671262Publication date: 2000Covers "working principles, intended applications, selection criteria and fundamental design principles for equipment used throughout the process and allied chemical industries."
Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology by ISBN: 9780387278421Publication date: 2007Formerly known as "Riegel's". Each type of material has a section that contains the background and history of the material as well as the industry and economics (data such as prices and sales may be out-of-date); this is followed by descriptions of the large-scale manufacturing processing and references to the literature. Chapters are also available for environmental and safety issues and statistical methods of analysis.
Plant Design and Economics for Chemical Engineers by ISBN: 0072392665Publication date: 2002-12-09The fifth revised edition includes new chapters on process synthesis, computer-aided design, and design of chemical reactors. Economic analyses has been revamped and updated; strength, equipment sizing and cost estimation, is updated and expanded as well. The numerous real examples throughout the book include computer or hand solutions, and often both. There is a new increased emphasis on computer use in design, economic evaluation, and optimization. Concepts, strategies, and approaches to computer use are featured. These concepts are not tied to particular software programs and therefore apply to wide a range of applications software, of both current and future release. A “one-stop” guide to chemical process design and evaluation.
Processes: Journal Articles and Conference Papers
CompendexPublication date: 1884-Index to journal articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering.
SciFinderPublication date: 1900-Index to the pure and applied chemical literature including journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, technical reports and patents. Requires registration (free).
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
