Chemical Engineering
Introduction: Encyclopedias and Other Sources of Background Information
Are you familiar with your topic? If your answer is "no" or "maybe", then you need to do two things before starting your literature search:
- Fill in your knowledge gaps so you are able to effectively describe the topic in searches and be able recognize appropriate content in the search results.
- Find reference sources that contain definitions and descriptions in that area, so you'll quickly be able to refer to them as you are doing your literature search.
Encyclopedias, handbooks and sometimes upper level textbooks provide background information summarizing the important points of a subject. You should find and read this background information before you begin your literature search as it will help you determine the appropriate terminology for the search. As you are doing your literature search, you will come across terminology or topics that are unfamiliar to you; these resources will bring you up-to-speed, so bookmark this guide so you can quickly return to this page of resources.
On this page, there are 3 sections:
- Introductory encyclopedia articles
- Databases with introductory or background information
- Specific books, such as encyclopedia, handbooks and upper level textbooks, containing background information.
Introductory Information from General Encyclopedias
Databases with Introductory Information
KnovelUse this database to search the full text of thousands of handbooks and encyclopedias from all areas of science and engineering. Use the search box on the home page to search for a topic or switch to a Data Search to look for property data for specific substances.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by ISBN: 9780471484967Also known as the "Kirk-Othmer", this encyclopedia focuses on the processes, techniques and materials used in the chemical industry. Articles are usually 20 pages or more in length. An article on process design is available as well as articles for the types of processes (ex., distillation, chemical vapor deposition, induction furnaces) and substances (ex., petroleum refinery processes, ceramic processing, vinyl chloride polymers). Economic data, when given, is generally out-of-date.
Branan's Rules of Thumb for Chemical EngineersISBN: 9780123877895Publication date: 2012"Provides solutions, common sense techniques, shortcuts, and calculations to help chemical and process engineers deal with practical on-the-job problems...discusses physical properties for proprietary materials, pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical sector heuristics, and process design with simulation software, along with closed-loop heat transfer systems, heat exchangers, packed columns, and structured packings."
Albright's Chemical Engineering HandbookISBN: 9780824753627Publication date: 2008"Well-rounded, concise, and practical by design ... Each chapter provides a clear review of basic information, case examples, and references to additional, more in-depth information. They explain essential principles, calculations, and issues relating to topics including reaction engineering, process control and design, waste disposal, and electrochemical and biochemical engineering... From fundamentals to plant operations, [this book] offers a thorough, yet succinct guide to day-to-day methods and calculations used in chemical engineering applications."
Perry's Chemical Engineers' HandbookCall number: TP151 .P45 2008 Science Reserve 2-hour checkout onlyPublication date: 2008Provides "coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications."
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
