Chemical Engineering
Knovel
KNOVEL is a full text, online collection of over 5,000 handbooks, data collections, and encyclopedias for science and engineering. This collection includes a section on chemistry and chemical engineering. The database can be searched by word or property or browsed by section. Examples of some of the handbooks:
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by ISBN: 0123725631Publication date: 2006Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards is widely regarded as the reference work in this field - an assembly of all reported risks such as explosion, fire, toxic or high-energy events that result from chemical reactions gone astray, with extensive referencing to the primary literature.
Chemical Engineering Design by ISBN: 0080966594Publication date: 2012"Chemical Engineering Design is a complete course text for students of chemical engineering. Written for the Senior Design Course, and also suitable for introduction to chemical engineering courses, it covers the basics of unit operations and the latest aspects of process design, equipment selection, plant and operating economics, safety and loss prevention. "
The Engineering of Chemical Reactions by ISBN: 0195169255Publication date: 2004"The first seven chapters cover such fundamentals as multiple reactions, energy management, and catalytic processes. The final five chapters explore more advanced topics including environmental, polymer, solids processing, biological, and combustion reactions."
Handbook of Environmental Degradation of Materials by ISBN: 0815515006Publication date: 2005"The Handbook of Environmental Degradation of Materials outlines the cost of material degradation, but more importantly, explains how to measure, analyze, and prevent environmental degradation for a wide range of indsutrial materials. ... Case studies show how organizations from small consulting firms to corporate giants design and manufacture products that are more resistant to environmental effects."
Branan's Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers by ISBN: 012387789XPublication date: 2012"The most complete guide of its kind, this is the favored handbook for chemical and process engineers who need a reliable and authoritative solution to their practical on the job problems. ... Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers solves process design problems quickly, accurately and safely, with hundreds of common sense techniques, shortcuts and calculations."
Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists by ISBN: 1613449321Publication date: 2012This database contains almost 450,000 data records covering physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties for over 5000 inorganic substances and over 35,000 organic substances. Coverage also includes solutions, refrigerants, mixtures, building and insulation materials, superheated, saturated, and subcooled fluids, and pure metals and alloys, in addition to Wilson Parameters and activity coefficients for selected binary systems and adsorption capacity for purification of air and water."
Other Online Resources
Advanced Thermodynamics for Engineers by ISBN: 034067699XPublication date: 1996In this comprehensive work the author produces a definitive text to cover both basic and advanced concepts which apply over the whole range of new technologies. Worked examples are included in most of the chapters, followed by exercises with solutions.
Albright's Chemical Engineering HandbookISBN: 9780824753627Publication date: 2008"Well-rounded, concise, and practical by design ... Each chapter provides a clear review of basic information, case examples, and references to additional, more in-depth information. They explain essential principles, calculations, and issues relating to topics including reaction engineering, process control and design, waste disposal, and electrochemical and biochemical engineering... From fundamentals to plant operations, [this book] offers a thorough, yet succinct guide to day-to-day methods and calculations used in chemical engineering applications."
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th Edition by ISBN: 1482208679Publication date: 2014"This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, ... this reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach."
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by ISBN: 9780471484967Publication date: 2007-"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information."
Handbooks in the ASU Library
To find print handbooks available in the libraries, use the ASU Library's Catalog and do a keyword search for the topic and handbooks; many of these handbooks will be older, so recently discovered or newly studied substances will not be included.
Search examples:
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
