Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Jewish Studies

A Subject Guide to research in all fields related to Jewish Studies, on campus and beyond

Jewish Studies

Jewish Studies Source: Hundreds of full-text titles from academic journals, monographs, and major periodicals and newspapers.

Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988+): Articles and book reviews in Jewish thought, contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

JSTOR Jewish Studies Archive Collection: Published content from scholarly journals in a number of languages.

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies: Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel. Some full-text. (Sign up for Notification of articles added to RAMBI here.)


Open Access Periodicals

Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers and Periodicals: Joseph Galron-Goldschläger, The Ohio State University Libraries.

Hebrew Periodicals: Out of print, religious periodicals; the Society for Preservation of Hebrew Books.

A Quick Guide to Jewish Periodicals: New York Public Library.

Humanities and Social Sciences Databases

Academic Search Premier: A wide range of academic subjects from thousands of scholarly journals.

ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS (1949): Articles, essays, and book reviews (American Theological Library Association).

JSTOR: Long runs of back-files of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

ProQuest: A multidisciplinary collection of databases, including Philosopher Index, MLA International Bibliography, and PAIS.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online: Journal articles, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by scholars. The content is arranged by topics in a structured bibliography. 

PAO- Periodicals Archive Online (1770–1995): Hundreds of digitized multidisciplinary journals.

Project Muse (1990+): Full-text access to dozens of scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.


Anthropology Plus: Journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries.

Humanities and Social Studies Retrospective (1907–1984): Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retro.

Index Islamicus (1906+): Scholarly literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.

International Medieval Bibliography Online (1967+): Index to journal articles and other publications.

Scopus: Peer-reviewed literature and web sources; tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.