Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Jewish Studies

A Subject Guide to research in all fields related to Jewish Studies, on campus and beyond

Media/ Photo Archives

ARTstor Digital Library: Digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images.

Historical Photographs of the Land of Israel: Private photo collections archived by the University of Haifa Library, in cooperation with the Department of Land of Israel Studies and the "Bitmuna" Laboratory of Nadav Mann from Kibbutz Merhavia.

Imagine: the Israel Mueseum Searchable Collections Database: Highlights of the Archaeology, Art, Judaica and Jewish Ethnography collections from the Israel Museum.

Israel Sun: Photographic Agency 

Jewish Photo Sources @ flickr.com: Compiled and made available by Jewish Studies Librarian at UC Santa Cruz, Lee Jaffe

Jewish Studies at ASU: Photo Gallery 

Judaica Division Images Collections at Harvard University: Offers insight into Jewish life in Israel; includes historical photographs and images documenting everyday Israeli life over the past 50 years.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online:

PikiWiki: Free Image collection of Israel: A joint venture of the Israel Internet Association (ISOC-IL),  the Israeli Wikimedia chapter and the Center for Educational Technology (CET) as part of promoting the concept of free content on the Web. Includes archival content.

The Eliasaf Robinson Tel Aviv Collection, Stanford University:

Yad va-Shem Photo Archive: The online archive currently comprises 130,000 historical photos.

Subject Headings

A variety of materials related to Jewish music are availble at ASULibraries: CDs can be located at the Music Library, while books and DVDs are at Hayden Library.

The following subject headings can help you locate these materials:

Jews, music * synagogue music * cantillation * klezmer music * songs, Yiddish * folk songs, Yiddish * folk songs, Hebrew * folk music, Israel * folk dance music Israel.

For streaming music, the Libraries offers two searchable databases, the Naxos Music Library, and the Classical Music Library.

Film Resources

Israeli Documentary Films at ASU: A collection of documentary films with English subtitles.

The Israeli Film Database: A comprehensive, searchable online database of Israeli cinema.

Latin American Jeswish-Related Films: A database arranged by countries, edited by Chrisitian J, Aviles of the University of Texas at Austin.

The State of Israel Established, a Film Database (in Hebrew):

Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive: Full length films on Jewish topics, searchable by categories: Jewish communities, the Holocaust, pre-State, the State of Israel and the Hebrew University.

Jewish Heritage Video Collection Curricula: PDF files of the book Friedman, Lester D., and David Desser. 1995. American Jewish directors: three visions of the American Jewish experience. New York, NY: Jewish Media Fund.

Streaming Music and More

 

Collections of Jewish Music - Some Streamed Music

American Cantorate: A joint project of Wesleyan University (Mark Slobin) with Hebrew Union College (Mark Kligman). The core mission is to present data gathered in the 1984-6 History of the American Cantorate project. Additions and links that build on that research extend and deepen our understanding of a profession that dates back to the seventeenth century in North America.

The Jewish Theological Seminary Music Collections: Include archives, sound recordings and musical scores depicting Ashkenazi and Sefardi traditions and the tradition of Cochin, India.

Darmouht Jewish Sound Archive: Established in 2002 as a repository of sound recordings for researchers and students. Users must register as researchers, this in not a free music download site. Genres include: Jewish humor, folk songs in Yiddish and Hebrew, nigunim, religious services, radio shows, and more.

Women and Jewish Music: Made available by Judith Pinnolis, a Librarian at the Goldfarb Library at Brandeis University.

Judaica Sound Archives: Formerly known as the Judaica Sound Archives, this Florida Atlantic University Libraries database includes thousands of streaming audio (non-downloadable), digitized from old albums. Covers many musical genres, both sacred and secular, in Jewish languages such as Hebrew, Yiddish, and Ladino.

Let Us Sing: An egalitarian traditional bencher (booklet of songs and blessings recited before and after meals, on Shabbat, festivals, and other occasions) with an alternative edge: It is true to traditional Hebrew texts but ready to adjust language when necessary to address the diversity of contemporary Jewish life in matters of gender and belief. The book is fully egalitarian, with a gender-neutral translation and equal ritual status for men and women. It is rich in explanations, insightful commentary, and inclusive liturgical alternatives for celebration, thanks, and prayer.

The title phrase (Come, Let Us Sing!) from the first of the Kabbalat Shabbat psalms invites us to honor and celebrate Shabbat with song and blessing. This bencher extends that invitation by presenting liturgies for the blessings after the meal, kiddush for Shabbat and festivals, z’mirot and popular songs, in an attractive, user-friendly format.

The Milken Archive if Jewish Music: Founded in 1990 to document, preserve, and disseminate the vast body of music that pertains to the American Jewish experience, with more than 700 recorded works, including over 500 world premiere recordings. The Milken Archive’s collection consists of 800 hours of oral histories, 50,000 photographs and historical documents, and thousands of hours of video footage from recording sessions, interviews, and live performances, plus an extensive collection of program notes and essays—the vast majority written by Artistic Director Neil W. Levin, Professor of Music at the Jewish Theological Seminary and one of the foremost authorities on Jewish music.

Tne Music Collection and Sound Archive: The National Sound Archives, part of the Music Department, has the world's largest collection of ethnographic and commercial recordings of Israeli and Jewish music. The collection also includes non-Jewish music. Approximately half the recordings are commercial. The other half of the collection comprises: recordings of interviews, made in a studio or in the home of the participant, and field recordings made at live events, such as weddings and festivals, which have been transferred to the archives by researchers (musicologists, ethno-musicologists, anthropologists, etc.), as well as Kol Yisrael (Israel Radio) recordings that have been deposited in the National Sound Archives.

The Piyut Archive: An archive of melodies and texts of this genre from all diasporic communities.

Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Sound Archive: A musical research library at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Includes about 5,300 Judaic sound recordings, in various formats (78, 45 and 33rpm, reel to reel and cassette tapes, compact discs, videos and DVDs). The three major Judaic languages, Yiddish, Hebrew and Ladino are well represented as well as translations in various languages. All genres are represented Israeli, songs of the Diaspora, instrumentals (klezmer and classical), spoken word, songs of the folk, theater, holocaust, literary origin and religious songs (Chassidic, liturgical cantorial). Also included 300 publications in which original text, translation, transliteration and melody line of the recorded songs and poems are available; a sheet music collection of some 950 pieces; and ephemera, over 960 items of newspaper and magazine articles, concert programs, images, playbills, song pamphlets and assorted memorabilia.

Sephardic Music - A Century of Recoedings: This serchable website features recorded Sephardic music from the 78 rpm era to the present.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries: A streaming online music database and fully searchable resource. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, it provides an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The interface enables patrons to organize, create, save and share their own selections of music. Search under Cultural Group for Jewish; or under Genre for World, then Judaica.

Der Yiddisher Gramophon: The sites provides regularly updated information about the Discography of Early European Recordings of Jewish Music. Covers discogrpahy of early European recordings, radio broadcasts in Pre-War Europe, and Yiddish theater.

Chazzanut Online:  http://www.chazzanut.com/

Sephardic Hazzanut Project:  http://www.sephardichazzanut.com/

Sephardic Pizmonim Project:  http://www.pizmonim.org/

Charlie Bernhaut – Chazzanut:  http://charliebernhaut.com/


Israeli Music (in Hebrew)

Hours and Locations