Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Jewish Studies

A Subject Guide to research in all fields related to Jewish Studies, on campus and beyond

Local Jewish News

Jewish News of Greater Phoenix: A family-owned weekly that operates since 1948. 

Arizona Jewish Post: Founded in 1946; published biweekly by the Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona.

Arizona Jewish Newspapers: Archived newspapers on the Library of Congress' project Chronicling America.

World News

Ethnic and World News

Access World News (1977+): Full-text information and perspectives from over hundreds of U.S. and international sources.

Alt-PressWatch (1970+): Selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of alternative press.

Ethnic NewsWatch: Full-text of ethnic, minority, and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Search by Ethnic Group.

Nexis Uni (2002+): Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. See LexisNexis Topic Guide.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890–1982): Articles from popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada.


Opinions

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: A full-text database providing differing points of view from articles on current social issues.

ProCon - Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues: Offered by a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity; includes linked media excerpts.

Digitized / Microfilmed Jewish Newspaper Collections

Collections of Historical Newspapers

Historical Jewish Periodicals Online: This guide, courtesy of New York Public Library, includes direct links to digitized title and collections.

Historical Jewish Press: Dozens of digitized newspapers from various countries, languages, and time periods. A project of Tel Aviv University and the National Library of Israel. See Title List.

Jewish Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries: Dozens of microfilmed newspaper sets are available for check out to ASU affiliates.

JTA, Jewish News Archive (1917+): Digitized archive

Historical German periodicals from Central and Eastern Europe: The Institute for East and Southeast European Studies (Regensburg/Germany; 47 periodicals from the territory of today’s Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Slovenia, Serbia, Ukraine, Latvia, Russia and Georgia.


Hebrew Newspapers

Early Hebrew Newspapers Project

Israeli Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries: Microfilmed newspaper sets are available for check out to ASU affiliates.

Hours and Locations