Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Jewish Studies

A Subject Guide to research in all fields related to Jewish Studies, on campus and beyond

The Jewish Canon Online

Jewish Bible: Tanakh and Mishneh Torah: The Hebrew Bible (Tanakh) in five editions (one with cantillation marks), English (JPS 1917), parallel Hebrew and English (voweled Hebrew and JPS English), and parallel Hebrew and French (voweled Hebrew and Rabbinat French); Mishneh Torah.

Sefaria: A library of interconnected Jewish texts from all periods, in Hebrew and English translation.

The Jewish Library: WikiSource (Hebrew interface): A repository of source Hebrew texts which are either in the public domain or are released under the cc-by-sa 3.0 license. Rabbi Dr. Seth (Avi) Kadish, Dept. of Jewish Thought, Oranim College.

Open Siddur: "Digitized printed Jewish liturgy and liturgy-related content in the Public Domain. Founded and operated by Aharon Varady since 2000.

Project Ben-Yehuda: The Hebrew equivalent of Project Gutenberg. Works are re-typed by volunteers to preserve Hebrew literary texts.


Talmud

The William Davidson Talmud: Babylonian Talmud with English translation, linked to major commentaries, biblical citations, Midrash, Halakhah, and other Jewish texts. The project aims to include Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz Even-Israel’s complete Modern Hebrew and English translations of the Talmud.

Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts: This database brings together images of major Talmudic manuscripts from libraries throughout the world. A collaborative project of the National Library of Israel, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project and the Hebrew University Department of Talmud.

Sol and Evelyn Henkind Talmud Text Databank: provides public access to all full surviving manuscripts of Oriental, Ashkenazic, Sephardic, and Yemenite provenance; hundreds of complete manuscripts and first printed editions of the Babylonian Talmud; and more than a thousand fragments from the Cairo and European archives.

Soncino Babylonian Talmud: Translated into English with notes, glossary and indices under the editorship of Rabbi Dr. I. Epstein.

Primary Textual Witnesses to Tannaitic Literature: Offered by the Naftal-Yoffe Center for the Study and Dissemination of Oral Law at Bar-Ilan University.

Rabbinic Literature: Legends from the Bavli and Yerushalmi Talmud as they appear in Ein Yaakov, with commentary and links to additional information. Part of the Daat Project, Hertzog College.

Digitized Manuscripts and Digitized Collections

Digitized Collections

Ets Haim Manuscripts: The website of Ets Haim, the oldest still functioning Jewish library in the world (founded in 1639), inclused images and descriptions of 172 Jewish manuscripts (16,000 folios).

Hebrew Manuscripts: A collection of Hebrew manuscripts digitized from microfilms and made available in downloadable PDF format. Currently, offers manuscripts from the collections of the Jewish Theological Seminary.

Jewish Theological Seminary - Special Treasures: A rich graphic interface with categorized sections; the same manuscripts are available via Hebrew Manuscripts.

Jesselson-Kaplan American Genizah Project, Penn Libraries: An open access digital repository of physically dispersed primary sources from the 16th-19th centuries.

Braginsky Collection: Impressive visualization of manuscripts and printed books, marriage contracts (ketubbot), and Esther Scrolls from the private collection of Rene Braginsky, as featured in an exhibit organized by the Landesmuseum in Zurich and the Bibliotheca Rosenthaliana, Special Collections, University of Amsterdam. The German version includes additional 25 items.  

Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts: A searchable catalog, linked to digitized manuscripts. Search by different parameters, including language. Offered by the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Menasheh Ben Israel Collection: Collection holdings from the Universiteit van Amstrdem.

Isaac Leeser (1806-1868) Digital Repository: "An architect of 19th century American Jewish life, editor of America's first monthly Jewish periodical, originator of the first American Jewish publication society, and a founder of the nation's first rabbinical college." The repository includes Leeser's letters and published works, and the monthly Occident.

The David Simonsen Manuscripts: A digitized, downloadable manuscripts originally belonged to Rabbi David Simonsen (1853-1932). The Royal Library, Copenhagen.

The People in the Book: Hebraica and Judaica Manuscripts From Columbia University: This online exhibit features Hebrew manuscripts by following their authors, owners, and users.

Maimonides' Code of Jewish Law: Mishneh Torah manuscript at the Bodleian Library.

Yiddish Book Center: A digital library of Yiddish books, audiobooks, archival recordings, oral histories, Yizkor Books, and children's literature.


Cairo Genizah

The Rylands Genizah Collection: An online image collection and catalog of 15,000 fragments (will eventually hold nearly 30,000 images).


Catalogs / Finding Aids

Hebrew Manuscripts in the Vatican Library: A catalog of more than 800 Hebrew manuscripts in the Vatican Library. Hebrew interface.

Sixteenth-Century Hebrew Books at the Library of Congress Finding Aid

Archives

Indexes

American Jewish Historical Repositories: A searchable PDF file; includes repositories of American Jewish History. Includes archives, museums, libraries, synagogues, newspapers, communal organizations. Offered by the Myer and Rosaline Feinstein Center for American Jewish History, Temple University.


Early New York Synagogue Archives: A joint project of the Library of The Jewish Theological Seminary, the American Jewish Historical Society, and the Center for Jewish History. Documents and images (1730-early 1900s) that tell the story of the five first synagogues in New York City.

Encoded Archival Description (EAD) at the Library of Congress: These guides provide comprehensive overviews of unique resources at the LC. Detailed descriptions of a collection's component parts summarize the overall scope of the content, convey details about the individuals and organizations involved, and list box and folder headings. Links are provided to digitized content, when available.

Guide to the YIVO Archives: YIVO Archives include primary and secondary research materials about Yiddish language, literature and culture, including the Yiddish press and theater; European history with a focus on East European Jewish history; The Holocaust and its aftermath; Jewish life in the United States with a focus on the period of migration from 1880-1960.


Searching Archives

Archive Finder: A current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material housed across the United States and United Kingdom.

Repositories of Primary Sources:A listing of over 5,000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

Judaica Libraries and Archives on the Web: Compiled by Ethan Starr; last updated 2006.


Major Jewish Archives - Search for additional archives and archival collections in the above indexes

American Jewish Archives  


Local Jewish Archives

Arizona

Arizona Jewish Historical Society

The Bloom Southwest Jewish Archives: This archive, housed at University of Arizona, covers the Jewish Southwest experience in West Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and Southern California.

Phoenix Jewish News Photographs Collection: Over 10,000 photographs and other documentation donated by the Jewish News of Greater Phoenix newspaper to the Arizona Jewish Historic Society.


Washington, D.C.

Jewish Historical Society of Greater Washington


Oral Histories

Hours and Locations