ASU Online Library Guide
Need More Help?
ASU Directory
Help Center and Technical Support | 1-855-278-5080
Library Accessibility Services | 1-480-965-2600 or accessibilityservices@asu.edu
Interlibrary Loan | 1-480-965-3282 or ASU-ILL@asu.edu
About this Page
This page offers resources on citation tools to help you cite resources from your research. The additional tutorials listed here will teach you more about ASU Library and how to utilize resources. This guide only skimmed the surface on what is available to you as an ASU student through the library, so it is encouraged to keep exploring and learn more.
Citing Sources
Citing sources is an ethical practice required by the university's Academic Integrity policy. As a college student, you are expected to cite sources that you quote, paraphrase, or otherwise use in preparing your papers, reports and presentations. The three most frequently used citation styles for students are APA (American Psychological Association), MLA (Modern Language Association) and Chicago (University of Chicago). See the ASU Library: Citation Styles guide for more information on each style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
ISBN: 9781433832161Publication date: 2019-10-01
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
ISBN: 9781603292627Publication date: 2021-04-22
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
ISBN: 9780226287058Publication date: 2017-09-05
Additional Resources
- ASU Library LibGuide: Citation Styles: This page links to various style guides (APA, MLA, Chicago) and more resources that are recommended for learning the basics of proper citation formatting.
- ASU Tutoring: Offers a variety of services that are free to you as a student, including: Tutoring, Writing Tutoring, Academic Skills Tutoring, Supplemental Instruction, Graduate Writing Tutoring, and Graduate Statistics Tutoring.
- The Online Writing Lab at Purdue: Many instructors refer to the free OWL website because it provides accurate and informative resources on writing and citation issues.
Library Tutorials and News
Tutorials
For a information about general research skills, finding articles, citing sources, using databases and more, ASU Library tutorials are videos and crash courses on how to better conduct research. Feel free to explore all of these topics on the Tutorial Page.
Library Guides
Library Guides, or LibGuides, such as this one are developed by librarians to teach students and researchers more about the resources available to them. There are LibGuides specific to classes, subject, resources and more. You can explore all LibGuides here.
The Library Channel
ASU Library has a news channel, promoting virtual and in-person events, resources and tools available to students. Keep up to date on The Library Channel.
Thank You!
This guide is a way to learn about the different resources available to you as an ASU Online student. At ASU Library, we are eager to help and support all students and researchers, whether it be for education or leisure purposes. Don't hesitate to reach out to any of us through Ask a Librarian.
Happy Searching!
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
