U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: Border States
Primary Sources: Open Access: Border States
State Name: A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z
During the war Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nevada (1864 statehood) and West Virginia (1863 statehood) were undeclared border states.
D
DELAWARE
Delaware Historical Society
Subject:
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
Delaware Public Archives: Digital Archives
For "Document Collections" see Abram Draper Personal Correspondence, Diary of Cyrus Forwood, and Historical and Cultural Affairs Photographs.
For "Online Exhibits" see Civil War: A Sesquicentennial Commemoration of the Great State of Delaware in the American Civil War.
For "Guides" see Guides to DPA Civil War Records.
K
KENTUCKY
Kentucky Digital Virtual Library
Search examples: Civil War, 1861-1865 and Veterans (Civil War, 1861-1865).
Kentucky Historical Society: Civil War Governors of Kentucky Digital Documentary Edition
Kentucky Historical Society: Digital Collections
Subjects:
Cartes de visite
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
University of Kentucky, UK Libraries & UK Special Collections Research Center: ExploreUK
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
University of Louisville: University Libraries: Digital Collections
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
M
MARYLAND
Digital Maryland
Civil War - Allegany County Historical Society
Civil War Collection - Historical Society of Carroll County
Civil War in Your Attic: Preserving the Legacy of Maryland and the Civil War
Manumissions, Indentures, Bills of Sale - Howard County Historical Society
Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman - Eastern Shore Regional Library
Slave Documents Collection - Enoch Pratt Free Library.
Maryland Center for History and Culture: Digital Collections
COLLECTIONS:
Boyd Family Collection of Civil War Photographs
Civil War Papers Collection
SUBJECTS:
Civil wars
Maryland--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
Unionists (United States Civil War)--Maryland--Baltimore
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Casualties
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Civilian relief
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Correspondence
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Monuments
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Participation, African American
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Poetry
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Prisoners and prisons
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Public opinion
United States. Army--Recruiting, enlistment, etc.--Civil War, 1861-1865, [World War, 1914-1918, etc.].
University of Maryland: University Libraries: Digital Collections
Collection Name:
The Civil War in Maryland Collection
MISSOURI
Missouri Digital Heritage
See the main Civil War collection - which includes and Divided Loyalties.
The Browse Collections: By Title (All) page includes many more specialized collections related to the "Civil War."
State Historical Society of Missouri: American Civil War in Missouri Research Guide
University of Missouri: University Libraries: University of Missouri Digital Library
Missouriana: Civil War in Missouri
Subject:
United States -- History - -Civil War, 1861-1865
Time Period:
1861-1865
N
NEVADA
Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records
University of Nevada, Las Vegas: UNLV University Libraries: Special Collections and Archives Portal
W
WEST VIRGINIA
Archival Resources of the Virginias
National Park Service: West Virginia Civil War Battles
West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture & History
West Virginia University: WVU Libraries: Digital Collections & Exhibits
Clarysville Civil War Hospital
Francis H. Pierpont Civil War Telegram Series
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
