LibGuides: U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: Confederate States

Primary Sources: Open Access: Confederate States

State Name: A · B · C · D · E ·F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z

The Confederate States of America (also known as the Confederate States or the Confederacy) was comprised of the following Southern states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

A

ALABAMA

Alabama Department of Archives and History: ADAH Digital Collections
Civil War & Reconstruction Governors
Civil War & Reconstruction Newspapers
Civil War Flags
Confederate Regimental History Files
Civil War Service Database

University of Alabama: University Libraries: University of Alabama Special Collections
Digital Collections:
A.C. Roycroft Papers
A.S. Williams III Postcard Collection
Civil War Materials
Donoho Family Papers
Edwin A. Abbott Papers
Henry Timrod Papers
Holliman and Stewart Families Letters
James Boykin Papers
James H. McCleary Diary, Letter, and Photograph
James Thomas Murfee Letters
Joseph Emerson Brown Letters
Pickett Family Papers
Wade Hall Collection of Civil War Materials
Subject:
"United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865"

University of Alabama: University Libraries: Special Collections: Search the Archive
"Civil War"

ARKANSAS

Arkansas Digital Archives
See Civil War Arkansas and Civil War Maimed Soldiers Lists, 1867.

Arkansas State Archives
See the Civil War Resource Guide.

University of Arkansas, University Libraries: Digital Collections
Subject:
"United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865"

F

FLORIDA

Archvies of Florida
See The Civil War in Florida.

Florida Memory
A Guide to Civil War Records at the State Library of Florida
Within the Historical Records section, use the "Refine By" options. For "Periods" usee the Civil War & Aftermath (1861-1900) and Reconstruction Era Florida (1865-1877).

University of Florida: George A. Smathers Library: Digital Collections
Florida and the Civil War
Florida and the Civil War: Miscellaneous Letters

G

GEORGIA

Auburn University: Auburn University Libraries: Digital Library
Civil War Diaries
Civil War Letters
Intellectual Underpinnings of the Civil War

University System of Georgia: Georgia Archives: Virtual Vault
Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges
Confederate Muster Rolls
Confederate Pension Applications
Confedrate Pension Applications Supplements
Military Artifact Collection (Capitol Museum Collection)

L

LOUISIANA

Louisiana Digital Archives
See the results for Civil War, 1861-1865 and Confederate States of America.

Louisiana State University, LSU Libraries: Special Collections: University Archives Digital Collections

M

MISSISSIPPI

Mississippi Department of Archives and History: Digital Archives
Confederate Indigent and Disabled Soldiers and Dependents
Confederate Pension Applications, 1889-1932
Confederate Pension Reports and Correspondence, County
Confederate Pension Rolls, 1889-1935
Confederate Veterans and Widows, Enumeration of, 1907-1942
Confederate Widows' Pension Applications and Correspondence, 1958-1974

Mississippi Digital Library
Sample searches: the phrases Civil War and Confederate States of America.

Mississippi State University, University Libraries: Digital Collections
Bultema-Williams Collection of Ulysses S. Grant Photographs and Prints
The Frank and Virginia Williams Collection of Lincolniana
Frank and Virginia Williams Collection of Lincolniana
Frank and Virginia Williams Collection of Lincolniana: Manuscripts
Frank and Virginia Williams Collection of Lincolniana: Pamphlets
Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library
Ulysses S. Grant Collection
Grant Library Sheet Music
The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant
Subjects:
American Civil War, 1861-1865
Civil War, U.S., 1861-1865
Confederate States of America
Southern States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
War between the States, 1861-1865
War of the Rebellion, 1861-1865
War of Secession, U.S., 1861-1865

University of Mississippi:
The Center for Civil War Research
University of Mississippi Slavery Research Group

University of Mississippi: University of Mississippi Libraries: Digital Collections
Civil War Collection
Broadsides
Clippings and Pamphlets
Confederate Currency
Confederate Postage
Correspondence
Daybooks, Invoices, Financial Records
Diaries
Documents
Manuscripts and Books
Military Records
Photographs
Postcards
Scrapbooks

N

NORTH CAROLINA

DigitalNC
Images of North Carolina
Years:
1861 to 1865
North Carolina Memory
Years:
1861 to 1865

Duke University: Duke University Libraries: Duke Digital Collections
American Slavery Documents
Barnard and Grander Civil War Photographs
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865

Duke University: Duke University Libraries: David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library: John Hope Franklin Research Center for African American History and Culture
Civil War Resources in Duke's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Digital Timeline:
Collections by People of African Descent in the US, 1801-1865
Collections by People of African Descent in the US, 1866-1945

East Carolina University: ECU Libraries: Digital Collections
Military History: Civil War
Subjects:
North Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865

NC State University: NC State University Libraries: Rare and Unique Digital Collections
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865

North Carolina Digital Collections
Collections:
Civil War
Confederate Pension Applications

North Carolina's Digital Heritage

State Archives of North Carolina

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries: Documenting the America South
North American Slave Narratives
The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865.
True and Candid Compositions: The Lives and Writings of Antebellum Students at the University of North Carolina
Subject Index
C - for "Confederate States of America"
U - for "United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865."

University of North Carolina: University Libraries: Wilson Special Collections Library: Digital Exhibits and Collections
Exhibits:
A Nursery of Patriotism: The University at War, 1861-1945
Slavery and the Making of the University
Collections:
Civil War Day by Day (2011-2015 blog)
Jeremy Francis Gilmer Papers
North Carolina Civil War Image Portfolio

Wake Forest University: ZSR Library: Digital Collections
Album of Reverend Alexander Bell Smith
Civil War in the American South
Confederate Broadsides
George L. Bright Civil War Diary
Herbert E. Valentine Civil War Diary
Lipe Family Civil War Letters
Sanders Meredith Ingram Papers

S

SOUTH CAROLINA

Furman University: Furman University Libraries: Digital Collections Center
Civil War Correspondence
Secession Era Newspaper Editorials

South Carolina Digital Library
Time Periods:
The Antebellum South (1816-1860)
U.S. Civil War (1861-1865)
Reconstruction (1866-1877)

University of South Carolina, University Libraries: Digital Collections
Bratton Family Papers, 1764-1983
Collected Civil War Papers of Colonel Benjamin Franklin Eshleman
Heyward Album
Keziah Brevard Journal, 1860-1861
Maxcy Gregg Papers, 1835-1888
Smith and Wells Family Papers, 1856-1914
South Carolina and the Civil War
Stereographic Views of South Carolina
Thomas Jones Davies Bible Records, 1830-1865
University of South Carolina Reconstruction Records

T

TENNESSEE

Tennessee Virtual Archive
Civil War Military Records
Civil War Soldier Photographs
Civil War Visual Culture
Civilian Life in the Civil War
Looking Back: The Civil War in TN
Reconstruction in Tennessee
Tennessee Military Muster Roles
The Lost Cause in Southern Memory
Women in the Civil War

Vanderbilt University: Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries: Special Collections and University Archives: Collection Guides
Use the "Limit by record type" drop-down menu to "Limit to digital materials".
Collections:
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
Subject:
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865