U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: Union States
Primary Sources: Open Access: Union States
State Name: A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V· W · X · Y · Z
During the war, the following remained Union states: California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada (1864 statehood), New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia (1863 statehood) and Wisconsin.
C
CALIFORNIA
National Park Service: California's Role in the Civil War
National Park Service: Union California Volunteers
Online Archive of California
From the "Collections" option, see pages beginning with the letter C (as in "Civil War").
Stanford University: Stanford Libraries: Digital Collections (SearchWorks)
University of California, Berkeley: UC Berkeley, Library: Digital Collections
American Civil War Portraits
University of California, Los Angeles: UCLA Library:Digital Collections
William S. Rosecrans Papers
University of Southern California, USC Libraries: USC Digital Library
CONNECTICUT
Connecticut Digital Archive
See Topic= United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865.
Connecticut History
See the Civil War And Reconstruction 1850-1877 era page or Civil War topic page.
Connecticut State Library Digital Collections
See results for United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
TeachIt: Bringing Connecticut History to the Classroom
See Civil War and Slavery and Abolition.
Yale University: Yale Library: Digital Collections
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
I
ILLINOIS
CARLI Digital Collections
272 Words that Changed America (Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum)
American Civil War Collection (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville)
Basil H. Messler Diary (Augustana College)
Boys in Blue (Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum)
General Leonard Fulton Ross Papers (Western Illinois University)
Gould D. Molineaux Diaries (Augustana College)
Hans Westerlund Papers (Augustana College)
Lincoln Publications (Western Illinois University)
Modern Manuscripts Digital Collection (Newberry Library)
Museum Collection (Chicago Museum Collection)
Noah Hart Papers (Dominican University)
Prints and Photographs Collection (Chicago History Museum)
Southern Illinois Civil War (Southern Illinois University Carbondale)
The Papers of J. H. Rowell (Eureka College)
William R. Townsend Civil War Diary (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville)
Chicago Collections
United States History Civil War, 1861-1865
Illinois Digital Archives
Abraham Lincoln -- Documents
Lincoln and Lincoln-Related Documents from the Illinois State Archives
Arlington Heights Military History
Ella's Historical Collection- Grand Army of the Republic, Post 453
Illinois and the Civil War -- Documents
Illinois Digital Heritage Hub
Illinois -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: University Library: Digital Collections
Subject = Civil War, 1861-1865
Illinois History and Lincoln Collections
Frederick Hill Meserve Selected Photographs
Jonathan A. Catlin Collection
Stephen A. Forbes Papers
INDIANA
Ball State University Digital Media Repository
U.S. Civil War Resources for East Central Indiana
Indiana Historical Society: Digital Images
Civil War Home Front
Civil War Materials
Civil War Military Front
Indiana Memory
Civil War - Governor Morton Telegraph Books and Slips
Howard County During and After the Civil War
Michiana Memory - Schyler Colfax & the Civil War.
Montgomery County (IN) in the Civil War
United States Civil War Resources for East Central Indiana.
Subject:
Civil War, 1861-1865.
Indiana State Library Digital Collections
Indiana State Library Manuscripts Small Collections
S0856: William R. Lowes Civil War Letters
S2609: Eli Lilly Collection of Civil War Envelopes
S2617: Siege of Corinth, Civil War Letter
S2691: Civil War Vicksburg Letter
S3048: Press J. O'Bannon, Civil War Letter
S3135: 34th Indiana Regiment Civil War Letter
S3136: Civil War Letter
Subjects:
Indiana--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Military life
IUPUI: University Library: Digital Collections
Civil War: Governor Morton Telegraph Books and Slips
University of Notre Dame: Hesburgh Libraries: Marble (Museums, Archives, Rare Books & Libaries Exploration)
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
IOWA
Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
Cedar Falls Civil War Exhibit Catalog
Civil War Diaries and Letters
A Czech in the American Civil War
Iowa State University Library Civil War Diaries Collection
Iowa State University: University Library: Digital Collections
Civil War
University of Iowa: University of Iowa Libraries: Iowa Digital Library
Civil War Diaries and Letters
Resources for the Study of the Civil War & Abraham Lincoln
K
KANSAS
Kansas City Public Library: Civil War on the Western Border
Kansas Historical Society
Civil War Research
Kansas Historical Society: Kansas Memory
Date:
1861-1869
Thematic Time Period:
Civil War, 1861 - 1865
Wars:
Civil War
Battle of Chickamauga
Battle of Mine Creek
Battle of Westport
Battle of the Blue
Kansas Units
Other States Units
Price's Raid
Quantrill's Raid
University of Kansas: KU Libraries: Digital Collections
M
MAINE
Digital Maine Repository
Civil War Era Soldiers' Portraits
Maine Historical Society: Maine Memory Network
Maine and the Civil War: The Homefront and the Battlefield
Themes: Mainers Go to War:
Monuments to Civil War Soldiers
Time Period:
1850-1870 The Civil War
Maine State Archives
Repository:
Civil War- Regimental Records, 1861 - 1865
Subject:
Civil War, 1861-1865
MASSACHUSETTS
Boston College: Boston College Libraries: Boston College Digitized Collections
Civil War Correspondence, 1861-1865
Bernard and Margaret hayes Letters, 1861-1867
Florence and Ellen Burke Letters, 1864
Michael H. Leary Letters, 1861-1863
Digital Massachusetts Historical Society
Era:
Civil War (1861-1865)
54th Regiment [Fifty-fourth Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment]
Boston Abolitionists 1831-1865
The Case for Ending Slavery
Celebrating Lincoln
Charles Francis Adams, Sr.: The Civil War Diaries
Images of the Antislavery Movement in Massachusetts
Massachusetts in the Civil War1861-1862
Harvard University: Harvard Library: Harvard Digital Collections
Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation and Freedom: Primary Sources from Houghton Library
Collections in Context:
Civil War, 1861-1865
Massachusetts Archives Digital Repository
Massachusetts Historical Society
Collection Guides:
Civil War Patriotic Covers
Collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society Related to African American History: An Overview
African Americans and the End of Slavery in Massachusetts
Within the above collection guide's "Detailed Description" section, see the "African Americans and the Civil War" sub-section.
Example: 54th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment Carte de Visite Album
Manuscript Collections:
Civil War Correspondence, Diaries, and Journals at the Massachusetts Historical Society (1754-1926; bulk: 1861-1865)
Photograph Collections:
Homans Family Civil War Carte de Visite Album
Wolcott Family Civil War Carte de Visite Album
State Library of Massachusetts
Massachusetts Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines in the Civil War
MICHIGAN
Library of Michigan Digital
Subject:
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
Michigan State University: MSU Libraries: MSU Libraries Digital Collections
14th Ohio Infantry, Company A, Regiment Records (c.00255)
6th Michigan Infantry Records (c.00007)
7th Michigan Infantry Records (c.00309)
Civil War Collections
Frank Leslie's Illustrated History of the Civil War (c.00329)
Michiganology
Civil War
Civil War Battle Flags
Civil War Photographs
Record of Service of Michigan Volunteers in the Civil War, 1861-1865
University of Michigan: University of Michigan Library: Digital Collections
Civil War Collections Online (Bentley Historical Library)
Civil War Collection (Western Michigan University Libraries)
Henry James Family Correspondence, 1855-1865 (bulk 1859-1865)
MINNESOTA
Minnesota Digital Library
Subject Heading:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861 1865
Minnesota Historical Society
Subject:
Civil War, 1861-1865
University of Minnesota: University of Minnesota Libraries: UMedia
"Civil War" "United States" (Sort by Date: Oldest First)
University of Minnesota Libraries: Department of Archives and Special Collections: Givens Collection of African American Literature: Umbra Search African American History
Collection:
Civil War
N
NEVADA
Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records
University of Nevada, Las Vegas: UNLV University Libraries: Special Collections and Archives Portal
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Dartmouth College: Dartmouth Library: Digital Collections
The John McCoy Family Papers
New Hampshire Historical Society: Collections Catalog
Subjects:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
New Hampshire History Network
Timeline of New Hampshire History
1861. During the Civil War, Jefferson native Thaddeus Lowe pioneered in the wartime use of balloons, including use of telegraphy from the air and of an aircraft-carrying vessel
1862. Concord photographer Henry P. Moore documented the daily life both of New Hampshire Civil War soldiers and of slaves deserted by their southern owners
1863. The contributions of countless New Hampshire citizens helped make the Battle of Gettysburg the most significant and best documented conflict of the war
1864. Off the coast of Cherbourg, France, the Portsmouth-built U.S.S. Kearsarge sank the Alabama, which had previously succeeded in sinking Union vessels around the world
University of New Hampshire Scholars Repository: Digital Collections
New Hampshire History Collections:
Col. Edward Cross Collection
John Henry Jenks Papers
Leander Harris Collection
Regimental History Books:
History of the Second Regiment New Hampshire Volunteers: its camps, marches and battles. 1865.
NEW JERSEY
New Jersey State Library
Records of Officers and Men in the Civil War, 1861-1865
Princeton University: Princeton University Library: Digital PUL
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey: Rutgers University Libraries: Digital Collections
Search Digital Collections
Subjects:
United States -- Army -- New Jersey Infantry Regiment, 14th (1861-1865)
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Exhibition:
"Struggle Without End: New Jersey and the Civil War" (2012-2013):
Digital exhibition
Exhibition catalog (50 pp.)
NEW YORK
Cornell University, Cornell University Library: Digital Collections
Collection:
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Cornell University, Cornell University Library: Cornell Making of America
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: History Resources
Periods:
Civil War and Reconstruction, 1861-1877
Student Transcription Project
Civil War Letters
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
American Caricatures Pertaining to the Civil War
Autograph Verses and Photographs of Southern Poets of the Civil War
Battles and Leaders of the Civil War
Civil War and Reconstruction in Alabama
The Photographic History of the Civil War
Sketches from the Civil War in America 1861, '62, and '63
Slave Manifests and Auction Receipts. New Orleans, 1861
Wallach Division Picture Collection
Keyword phrase:
Civil War
Syracuse University: Syracuse University Libraries: Digital Collections
Subject - Topics
American Civil War (United States : 1861-1865)
O
OHIO
Ohio Memory
Collections:
Civil War Era Newspapers of Mount Vernon
Ohio History Connection Community Collection
Ohio History Connection Flag Collection
Putnam County Historical Society Digital Collection
Trumbull County Historical Society Digital Collection
Wood County Historical Center & Museum Digital Collection
Time Period:
1860s
Ohio State University: University Libraries: Digital Collections
Subjects:
American Civil War
Confederate States of America
Davis, Jefferson
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865
University of Cincinnati: University of Cincinnati Libraries: Digital Collections & Repositories
Civil War Exemptions (Hamilton County, Ohio)
OREGON
Northwest Digital Heritage
Subjects:
Cartes-de-visite (card photographs)
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Correspondence
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Portraits
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Veterans
Oregon State University: Oregon State University Libraries and Press: Special Collections & Archives Research Center
U.S. Civil War Collection, 1862-1898
Oregon State University Libraries and University of Oregon Libraries: Oregon Digital
Oregon Historical Society: Digital Collections
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Portraits
Unionists (United States Civil War)
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps
Oregon History Project
Era: 1846-1880 (Treaties, Civil War, and Immigration)
P
PENNSYLVANIA
Pennsylvania Historical Association
Pennsylania State University: College of Liberal Arts: George and Ann Richards Civil War Era Center
Pennsylvania State University: College of the Liberal Arts: Center for Black Digital Research
Black Women's Organizing Archive
Colored Conventions Project
Pennsylvania State University: Penn State University Libraries: Featured Collections A-Z
Civil War Era Diaries
Edwin Forbes Civil War Etchings
Emilie Davis Diaries
Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection
The Peoples' Contest
Soldiers’ Aid Society of Hartsville and Wrightstown Soldiers’ Aid Society
William C. Darrah Collection of Cartes-de-visite, 1860-1900
State Library of Pennsylvania
Abraham Lincoln Collection
Pennsylvania Regiment Histories
United States Civil War Collection
University of Pennsylvania: Penn Libraries: Colenda Digital Repository
Collection:
Gordon Block Collection of Lincolniana, 1760-1963
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
University of Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Library System: ULS Digital Collections
An Attempt to Describe the Future of the United States
Subject:
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
R
RHODE ISLAND
Brown University: Brown University Library: Digital Collections
Lincoln Broadsides
Lincoln Envelopes
Lincoln Graphics
Lincoln Manuscripts
Lincoln Objects
Lincoln Sheet Music
Martha Waldo Greene and Frederick Sherman Collection of Frederick Douglass Papers
EnCompass: A Digital Sourcebook of Rhode Island History
Rhode Island Historical Society
Rhode Island State Digital Archives
See Civil War results.
V
VERMONT
Digital Vermont
Vermont Civil War Flag Collection
University of Vermont: University of Vermont Libraries: Digital Collections
Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera
Vermonters in the Civil War
Vermont Historical Society
Civil War Manuscript Transcriptions
War and Industry: The Civil War
W
WEST VIRGINIA
Archival Resources of the Virginias
National Park Service: West Virginia Civil War Battles
West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture & History
West Virginia University: WVU Libraries: Digital Collections & Exhibits
Clarysville Civil War Hospital
Francis H. Pierpont Civil War Telegram Series
WISCONSIN
University of Wisconsin-Madison: UW-Madison Libraries: UW-Digitized Collections
Civil War Band Collection: 1st Brigade Band of Brodhead, Wisconsin
Wisconsin Goes to War: Our Civil War Experience
Wisconsin Historical Society
Wisconsin Historical Collections 1855-1915
Wisconsin’s Involvement in the Civil War
Subject:
Civil War, 1861-1865
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
