U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: Background Sources (ASU Library)
Online Sources for Background Information
Below are online dictionaries and online encyclopedias which focus on the United States Civil War (1861-1865).
Online Dictionaries
Hunt, Roger D. Colonels in Blue: Indiana, Kentucky and Tennessee: A Civil War Biographical Dictionary. McFarland & Company, 2014. xi, 246 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Monroe, Dan and Bruce Tap. Shapers of the Great Debate on the Civil War: A Biographical Dictionary. Greenwood Press, 2005. xxviii, 405 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Richter, William L. The A to Z of the Civil War and Reconstruction. Scarecrow Press, 2009. liv, 915 p.
Ebook Central [3 copies]
Richter, William L. Historical Dictionary of the Civil War and Reconstruction. 2nd ed. Scarecrow Press, 2012. xlvii, 983 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Ritter, Charles F. and Jon L. Wakelyn, eds. Leaders of the American Civil War: A Biographical and Historiographical Dictionary. Routledge, 2013. xxxiv, 465 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Online Encyclopedias
Barney, William L. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War. Oxford University Press, 2011. 378 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Harper, Judith E. Women During the Civil War: An Encyclopedia. Routledge, 2004. xviii, 472 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Schroeder-Lein, Glenna R. The Encyclopedia of Civil War Medicine. Routledge, 2015. x p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. The Civil War Era and Reconstruction: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History. Routledge, 2015. 2 vols. xx, 749, I-85 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
Wright, John D. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Civil War Era Biographies. Routledge, 2013. lxiii, 683 p.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
