U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: ASU Library Catalog: Linked Subject Searches
Relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings
The below is an alphabetical list hyperlinked Library of Congress Subject Heading searches of the ASU Library Catalog. Each listed entry contains 1 or matching items (generally books) which have been assigned a subject heading that includes both the phrase "Civil War, 1861-1865" AND one of the following: "Correspondence," "Diaries," "Personal narratives," "Pictorial works," "Press coverage" or "Sources" (which is the terminology used to represent primary sources in Catalogs using the Library of Congress Classification.
- Note: When one or more of the matching results is available to ASU Library affiliaties (students, faculty and staff), a second hyperlink - marked "[online only]" has been added to the end of that entry.
A-P (Alabama ---- Prisoners of War)
Alabama -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Alabama -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate
Arkansas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Arkansas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate
Arkansas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
Baltimore (Md.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Charleston (S.C.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
Charleston (S.C.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Chicago (Ill.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Confederate States of America -- History -- Pictorial works
Confederate States of America. Army -- Biography -- Pictorial works
Confederate States of America. Army -- Officers -- Correspondence
Confederate States of America. Army -- Surgeons -- Correspondence
Confederate States of America. Army -- Surgeons -- Diaries [online only]
Confederate States of America. Army. Texas Brigade -- Pictorial works
Confederate States of America. Navy -- Officers -- Correspondence
Confederate States of America. Navy -- Officers -- Diaries [online only]
Connecticut -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Florida -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Generals -- Confederate States of America -- Biography -- Pictorial works
Generals -- Confederate States of America -- Correspondence [online only]
Generals -- Confederate States of America -- Diaries [online only]
Georgia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Georgia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate [online only]
Georgia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
Georgia -- History -- Civil war, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Illinois -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Illinois -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Indiana -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Indiana -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Indiana -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Bibliography
Iowa -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Kansas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Kansas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Kentucky -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Kentucky -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
Louisiana -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Louisiana -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
Maine -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Maryland -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Maryland -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works [online only]
Maryland -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
Massachusetts -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Michigan -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Minnesota -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Minnesota -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
Mississippi -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Mississippi River Valley -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Cavalry operations -- Sources
Missouri -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Missouri -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works [online only]
Missouri -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Social aspects -- Sources [online only]
Missouri -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Nebraska -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
New Hampshire -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
New Jersey -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
New Jersey -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
New Mexico -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
New Mexico -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate
New Mexico -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
New Orleans (La.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
New York (State) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
New York (State) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
New York (State) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Bibliography -- Catalogs
North Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
North Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate
North Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
North Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Nurses -- Confederate States of America -- Diaries
Ohio -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Ohio -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works [online only]
Ohio -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Social aspects -- Sources [online only]
Ohio -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Ohio -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Women -- Sources [online only]
Pennsylvania -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Philadelphia (Pa.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Presidents -- Confederate States of America -- Correspondence [online only]
Prisoners of war -- Confederate States of America -- Diaries [online only]
R-W (Rhode Island ---- Women)
Rhode Island -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Richmond (Va.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Richmond (Va.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate
Richmond (Va.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Sailors -- Confederate States of America -- Diaries
Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Soldiers -- Confederate States of America -- Correspondence [online only]
Soldiers -- Confederate States of America -- Diaries
South Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
South Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Southwest, New -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Southwest, New -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Southwest, Old -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Southwest, Old -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate
Surgeons -- Confederate States of America -- Diaries
Tennessee -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Tennessee -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Tennessee, East -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Texas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Cavalry operations -- Sources
Texas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Participation, Mexican American -- Sources [online only]
Texas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Texas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate
Texas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
Texas -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- African Americans -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Battlefields -- Pictorial works
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Blockades -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Campaigns -- Pictorial works
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Causes -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Claims -- Sources
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Correspondence [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Economic aspects -- Sources
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Environmental aspects -- Pictorial works
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Influence -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Literature and the war -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Medical care -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Monuments -- Pictorial works
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Naval operations -- Personal narratives [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Naval operations -- Pictorial works
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Participation, African American -- Sources
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Participation, Mexican American -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives -- Bibliography [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives -- Bibliography -- Catalogs [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives -- History and criticism [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives -- Juvenile literature
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, British
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Jewish
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Mexican American [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Prussian [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Union
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil war, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works -- Catalogs [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works -- Juvenile literature
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Press coverage [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Press coverage -- Great Britain [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Propaganda -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Public opinion -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Regimental histories -- Sources
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Social aspects -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Bibliography [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Bibliography -- Catalogs [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Indexes
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Juvenile literature
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- War work -- Sources [online only]
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Women -- Sources [online only]
United States. Army -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
Vicksburg (Miss.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Battlefields -- Pictorial works
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate [online only]
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pictorial works
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Press coverage [online only]
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
Washington (D.C.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Washington (D.C.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources [online only]
Washington (D.C.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Juvenile literature
Wisconsin -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives [online only]
Wisconsin -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources -- Bibliography
Women -- Confederate States of America -- Diaries [online only]
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
