U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: National Resources
Primary Sources: Open Access: National Resources
American Battlefield Trust (Washington, District of Columbia)
See the Civil War entries - including the Hallowed Ground magazine.
The American Civil War Museum (Richmond, Virginia)
"We maintain three unique sites: The American Civil War Museum – Historic Tredegar and the White House of the Confederacy, both in Richmond, VA; and The American Civil War Museum–Appomattox, in Appomattox, VA."
Civil War Washington (Washington, District of Columbia)
Digital Public Library of America
Collections:
American Civil War
Politics of the Union
Creating the Confederacy
Enlisting Armies
Military Service
African American Lives
Battles
The War at Home
Remembering the Civil War
Subject:
"United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865"
Library of Congress
American Civil War Sesquicentennial Web Archive
Civil War and Reconstruction, 1861-1877 (U.S. History Primary Source Timeline)
The Civil War in America: Timeline
U.S. Civil War: Selected Resources at the Library of Congress (research guide)
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Collections:
American Civil War Sesquicentennial Web Archive
Band Music from the Civil War Era
Charles Wellington Reed Papers, 1776 to 1926
Civil War
Civil War Glass Negatives and Related Prints
Civil War Maps
Civil War Sheet Music Collection
Civil War Soldier in the Wild Cat Regiment: Selections from the Tilton C. Reynolds Papers
Confederate States of America Records
Donald Benham Civil War Collection
Documentary Drawings
Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs
Lewis H. Machen Family Papers
Liljenqist Family Collection of Civil War Photographs
Civil War Faces (Flickr)
Faces of the Civil War: Mapping the Liljenquist Collection
Mary Ann Bickerdyke Papers
Washington During the Civil War: The Diary of Horatio Nelson Taft, 1861-1865.
Library of Congress blogs: Timeless: Stories from the Library of Congress
Category:
Civil War
National Archives (Washington, District of Columbia)
See the Civil War research.
National Civil War Museum (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)
National Park Service
Civil War
Soldiers and Sailors Database
Categories: Soldiers. Sailors. Regiments. Cemeteries. Battles. Prisoners. Medals of Honor. Monuments.
Teaching with Historic Places
Organization of Amercian Historians
The Civil War at 150
Smithsonian Institution
Civil War 150
Image Gallery
Smithsonian Libraries and Archives
Smithsonian Institution Archives
Smithsonian Libraries
Smithsonian Open Access
Topics:
American Civil War (1861-1865)
Carte-de-visite
Civil War, 1861-1865
Civil War and Reconstruction (1860-1877)
Civil War army officer
Confederate army officer
Designating Flags
Union army officer
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
