U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: West
Primary Sources: Open Access: West
State Name: A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z
The following fourteen American states did not yet exist during the American Civil War (1861-1865): Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.
A
ALASKA
ARIZONA
Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records
Arizona Memory Project
Subject:
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
Arizona State University, ASU Library PRISM
Northern Arizona University Coloardo Plateau Digital Collections
University of Arizona, University Libraries Digital Collections
Autobiography of William Bladen Jett
Charles Herner Papers
Derrick F. Hamlink Papers
Diary of Thomas Akers
Edward Palmer Manuscripts
Extracts from My Notes Written Chiefly Soon After the Close of the War
Fort Vancouver (Washington)
George Lippitt Andrews Papers
Hodge Family Papers
Operational and Administrative Papers Relating to the District of Colorado and the 1st Regiment Cavalry of Colorado
Papers of the Oury Family
Papers of the Thompson Family
Richmond Jones Papers
Stevens Family Correspondence
Tenodor Ten Eyck Papers
Winfield Scott Collection
C
COLORADO
Denver Public Library Digital Collections
Civil War Grand Army of the Republic - Colorado
Nebraska Civil War Veterans
University of Colorado, University Libraries CU Digital Library
What:
Cartes-de-visite
H
HAWAII
I
IDAHO
Idaho State Historical Society
Idaho State Archives Digital Collections
Lora Kulow - Idaho Pioneer Collection
Patrick Collins - Idaho Civil War Collection
Searchable Indexes
See the Civil War Veterans Google Sheets file.
M
MONTANA
Montana History Portal
Montana Historical Society Civil War Era Diaries and Correspondence
N
NEBRASKA
History Nebraska
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
University of Nebraska-Lincoln: UNL Libraries: Image and Multimedia Collections
Subject: United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
When: US Civil War
NEW MEXICO
Historical Society of New Mexico
New Mexico Digital Collections
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
NORTH DAKOTA
Digital Horizons: Life on the Northern Plains
Collections
Dear Folks at Home - Isaac Mark Abbott Civil War Letters (Concordia College)
North Dakota Historic Documents (North Dakota State University)
Subject (LCSH)
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
State Historical Society of North Dakota
O
OKLAHOMA
Oklahoma Digital Prairie
Collections
Confederate Pension Index Cards
Confederate Pension Records
Subject
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Oklahoma State University: OSU Libraries: Digital Collections
University of Oklahoma: University Libraries: OU Libraries Digital Collections
S
SOUTH DAKOTA
South Dakota State Historical Society
U
UTAH
Brigham Young University: BYU Library: Digital Collections
Edward M. Hayhurst Correspondence and other Material
University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Utah Division of Archives and Records Service
Utah Division of State History
Digital CollectionsW
WASHINGTON
Northwest Digital Heritage
Subjects:
Cartes-de-visite (card photographs)
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Correspondence
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Portraits
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Veterans
University of Washington: University Libraries: Digital Collections
Collections:
Civil War Letters Collection
Grand Army of the Republic Civil War Portraits
Washington State University: WSU Libraries: Digital Collections
Subject:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
WYOMING
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
