The Journal of Mammalogy and Mammalian Species are once again pleased to participate in March Mammal Madness (MMM) with the addition of other related Oxford University Press published journals, including American Entomologist, Annals of Botany, Behavioral Ecology, BioScience, Biological Journal of the Linnean Society, FEMS Microbiology Ecology, ICES Journal of Marine Science, Journal of Molluscan Studies, Mutagenesis, Ornithology, and Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society.
Mammal is a tool for collecting, archiving, and sharing camera trapping images and datahouses the largest database of mammal detections in the world and includes open access favorite photos and data. Official participants in #2018MMM!
The BHL portal provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 57 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries. In addition to public domain content, BHL works with rights holders to obtain permission to make in-copyright materials openly available under Creative Commons licenses.
This collaborative bat monitoring program is made up of an extensive community of partners across the continent who use standardized protocols to gather data that allow us to assess population status and trends, inform responses to stressors, and sustain viable populations.
The Amboseli Baboon Project is one of the longest-running studies of wild primates in the world. Focused on the savannah baboon, Papio cynocephalus, ABRP is located in the Amboseli ecosystem of East Africa, north of Mt. Kilimanjaro.
The Ngogo Chimpanzee Project Inc.’s mission is to conduct scientific research and maintain the long-term study of the Ngogo community of chimpanzees in Kibale National Park, Uganda, to conserve animal populations throughout the park, and to support the education of local people of all ages.
The aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While the highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature. Also includes an excellent photogallery
The ALA is Australia’s national biodiversity database. Founded on the principle of data sharing – collect it once, share it, use it many times – the ALA provides free, online access to millions of occurrence records to form the most comprehensive and accessible data set on Australia’s biodiversity ever produced
Infrared light shows us the heat radiated by the world around us. By viewing animals with a thermal infrared camera, we can actually "see" the differences between warm and cold-blooded animals. A tour of the site gives you a new perspective on feathers, fur and blubber.
Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.