March Mammal Madness
The official location for March Mammal Madness tournament information and resources! If you're learning, you're winning!
Stoats
- Stoatally Awesome ConverterGet your #stoatistics here! Created by Marc Kissel
Brackets
- BRACKET & BRACKET GUIDEAll the key info for 2025 March Mammal Madness including the Common Name Bracket & the Latin binomial Bracket!
- Link to All Brackets without the GuideCommon Name Brackets in English
Common Name Brackets in Spanish
Latin Binomial Bracket
Screen-Reader Bracket
JUMBO brackets that print on 5 pages in English & Spanish
Brackets Brackets Brackets
Get Hyped!
- 2025 MMM Combatant Information Slides in EnglishView-only Google presentation. (Educators - go to File>Make a Copy to create a version you can edit)
- Logos and Hype MaterialsGoogle Drive folder of 2025MMM logos and other graphics - PNG files.
- 2025 Gentle TrailerA Gentle Vibe Trailer for Littlest players and those going through it right now.
- Past Tournament Highlight ReelHighlight reel of some of the biggest controversies in March Mammal Madness over the years!
- 2025 MMM Medium TrailerMedium Vibes Trailer
Research the Combatants
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- Oxford University Press Special Issue CollectionThe Journal of Mammalogy and Mammalian Species are once again pleased to participate in March Mammal Madness (MMM) with the addition of other related Oxford University Press published journals, including American Entomologist, Annals of Botany, Behavioral Ecology, BioScience, Biological Journal of the Linnean Society, FEMS Microbiology Ecology, ICES Journal of Marine Science, Journal of Molluscan Studies, Mutagenesis, Ornithology, and Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society.
- IUCN Red List of Threatened SpeciesIncludes details profiles of species, as well as links to other information sources.
- Encyclopedia of LifeProvides knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria.
- Frontiers for Young MindsA collection of freely available scientific articles by distinguished scientists that are shaped for younger audiences by the input of their own young peers.
- Map of Life (MOL)The Map of Life assembles and integrates different sources of data describing species distributions worldwide.
Moar Tournament Learning Materials
- Compendium of the 12th annual March Mammal Madness 2024 TournamentCompilation of all of the Read All About zines for each match of the 2024 MMM tournament, tournament highlights, usage data, and educator contributions.
- Compendium of the 11th annual March Mammal Madness Tournament 2023Overview of and data generated by the the 2023MMM Tournament
- Compendium of the 10th annual March Mammal Madness tournament 2022‘Describing at Large Their True and Lively Figure, their several Names, Conditions, Kinds, Virtues (both Natural and Fanciful), Countries of their Species, their Love and Hatred to Humankind, and the wonderful work of Natural Selection in their Evolution, Preservation, and Destruction.
- March Mammal Madness in eLife"Education and Outreach: March Mammal Madness and the power of narrative in science outreach"
Illustration & Image Resources
- PhyloPicFree silhouette images of animals, plants, and other life forms, available for reuse under a Public Domain or Creative Commons license.
- eMammalMammal is a tool for collecting, archiving, and sharing camera trapping images and datahouses the largest database of mammal detections in the world and includes open access favorite photos and data. Official participants in #2018MMM!
- Wikimedia CommonsDatabase of freely usable media files.
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe BHL portal provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 57 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries. In addition to public domain content, BHL works with rights holders to obtain permission to make in-copyright materials openly available under Creative Commons licenses.
- Learn to Draw the Animals YourselfStep-by-step animal drawing tutorials.
Online Bracket Scorers
Back by popular demand, Mr. Jeff Brunstrum’s CONTEST MANAGER!
The contest manager can be copied and then be used by teachers to track student scores on their bracket selections. MMM strongly emphasizes that students should be graded on participation, aspects of combatant research, arguing from evidence, and/or other classrooMMM activities, but students should never be graded on how well their bracket scores in the tournament.
- Self-Scoring Tournament BracketThis will allow participants to have a digital MMM bracket of their picks that will automatically update and score their selections as the tournament goes on. If you are looking to run a MMM pool this will also give a convenient way for players to enter their bracket submissions and the pool manager can use the digital pool manager sheet to automatically score up to 40 entries and keep updated standings throughout the tournament.
- Contest ManagerThis template allows a Bracket Pool Manager to run a Pool using Google Sheets. The pool manager can use this sheet to automatically score up to 40 entries and keep updated standings throughout the tournament.
- Contest Manager Video DirectionsThis video goes over some of the common mistakes that are made importing contestant data. THREE CHEERS FOR Mr. Brunstrum!
IS YOUR MMM CONTEST BIGGER THAN JUST ONE CLASS?
- Large Contest ManagerIntended to be able to automatically score up to 400 entries and keep updated standings. This manager may get slow and laggy with large amounts of entries, but it should work.
- MMM Pools by Round: from engaged Grandpa to Bracketologist Extraordinaire!March Mammal Madness Pick'em Pool! Back for 2025! After his grandkid showed him the 2023 bracket, Grandpa PoolsByRound expanded his website for the Mammal Madness. Check it out!
- MMMBrackets: from Learner to Bracketologist Extraordinaire!Now open to everyone!
SPOTLIGHT Wild Animal Research
- Yellowstone EcosystemLearn about the vast Yellowstone ecosystem through field notes and stories.
- Kluane Red Squirrel ProjectThe Kluane Red Squirrel Project is an interdisciplinary, large-scale field experiment designed to test the importance of food abundance to the ecology and evolution of red squirrels.
- Kalahari Meerkat ProjectHighlighted in #2017MMM, this project focusing on meerkats is operated by the Kalahari Research Centre.
- Resident Orca Whale Puget Sound ResearchThis website provides pictures, research, a blog, and educational materials about Orca whales in the Puget Sound.
- North American Bat Monitoring ProgramThis collaborative bat monitoring program is made up of an extensive community of partners across the continent who use standardized protocols to gather data that allow us to assess population status and trends, inform responses to stressors, and sustain viable populations.
- St. Kilda Soay Sheep ProjectResearch about sheep, their ecology and their seasonal patterns.
- Amboseli Baboon ProjectThe Amboseli Baboon Project is one of the longest-running studies of wild primates in the world. Focused on the savannah baboon, Papio cynocephalus, ABRP is located in the Amboseli ecosystem of East Africa, north of Mt. Kilimanjaro.
- Ngorogoro Hyena ProjectWebsite curated by an international team of behavioural biologists based at the Leibniz-IZW in Berlin (Germany) who have been studying spotted hyenas in the Ngorongoro Crater in Tanzania for 26 years.
- Ngogo Chimpanzee ProjectThe Ngogo Chimpanzee Project Inc.’s mission is to conduct scientific research and maintain the long-term study of the Ngogo community of chimpanzees in Kibale National Park, Uganda, to conserve animal populations throughout the park, and to support the education of local people of all ages.
More Science Resources
- Ask A BiologistThis site has a large collection of biology learning materials that includes stories, games, activities, videos, and a podcast.
- Ask An AnthropologistThis site has an abundance of anthropology educational resources, games, and content.
- Strange ScienceThis site is NSF KidSites.com approved. It includes an eclectic collection of old illustrations and information about the history of paleontology and biology.
- BioInteractiveSearch award-winning multimedia apps, animations, videos, and more to bring scientific discovery into the classroom.
- PLOSable BiologyAsk A Biologist is intended to serve grades preK-12, and to be available as a resource for teachers and parents. Topics include animals, biomes, birds, and plants.
- National Science Digital LibraryThe National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning.
- Biodiversity Knowledge Integration CenterThis website provides access to our diverse resources and activities including BioKIC's natural history collections.
Other Animal Games We Love!
- METAZOAThe animal kingdom (Metazoa, in Greek) is full of our distant relatives... some more distant than others! Metazooa is a game that tests how well you know our extended family tree.
- ANIMORDLEWordle for Animals for the month of March! Animordle was created by friends of the MMM tournament JT Miller of St. Albans School and Sean Nolan of the Landon School.
2025 TEASER TRAILER
On this holiest of holy mammal holidays, Groundhog’s Day, this woodchuck declares 2.5 more weeks until the bracket drops (2/20) and 5 more weeks until the 13th Annual March Mammal Madness Tournament begins!
WHAT’S IN STORE FOR 2025?! Really great science turned into story, all new classroom animated video recaps, and more! In coming days we will be rolling out lots of pre-season fun... and some construction zones as we replace 2024 content with 2025 content.
In the meantime, overthink this teaser trailer!
ALSO: Educators can request materials via this form (and please take the educator survey, it helps the tournament a lot!).
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
