March Mammal Madness
The official location for March Mammal Madness tournament information and resources! If you're learning, you're winning!
Stoats
- Stoatally Awesome ConverterGet your #stoatistics here! Created by Marc Kissel
Busted Bracketeers
Sometimes our pick for Champion meets an unfortunate early exit from the tournament. Upsets happen, and they are called upsets not because people respond to them with cordial equanimity. BUT in 2024, in collaboration with MMM graphic design guru, Prof. Will Nickley, we present the Busted Bracketeers Bracket! While you can’t update any digital bracket submissions, you CAN print out this bracket starting with the Sweet Sixteen, pick a new champion to cheer & keep following the MMM action through to the end! Rally your fellow friends with busted brackets to form your own local club!
- 2024MMM Busted Bracketeer BracketPrint out this bracket starting with the Sweet Sixteen, pick a new champion to cheer & keep following the MMM action through to the end!
2024MMM Bracket K-5
Getting Started Resources
- 2024 MMM Combatant Information in EnglishView-only Google presentation. (Educators - go to File>Make a Copy to create a version you can edit)
Research the Combatants
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- Mammals - National GeographicUses science, exploration and storytelling to provide information about mammals.
- Frontiers for Young MindsA collection of freely available scientific articles by distinguished scientists that are shaped for younger audiences by the input of their own young peers.
- IUCN Red List of Threatened SpeciesIncludes details profiles of species, as well as links to other information sources.
Illustration & Image Resources
- PhyloPicFree silhouette images of animals, plants, and other life forms, available for reuse under a Public Domain or Creative Commons license.
- Wikimedia CommonsDatabase of freely usable media files.
- eMammalMammal is a tool for collecting, archiving, and sharing camera trapping images and datahouses the largest database of mammal detections in the world and includes open access favorite photos and data. Official participants in #2018MMM!
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe BHL portal provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 57 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries. In addition to public domain content, BHL works with rights holders to obtain permission to make in-copyright materials openly available under Creative Commons licenses.
- Learn to Draw the Animals YourselfStep-by-step animal drawing tutorials.
SPOTLIGHT Wild Animal Research
- Kluane Red Squirrel ProjectThe Kluane Red Squirrel Project is an interdisciplinary, large-scale field experiment designed to test the importance of food abundance to the ecology and evolution of red squirrels.
- Weasel Wanted ProjectThis project provides information on weasels and their changing habitat in Switzerland.
- Resident Orca Whale Puget Sound ResearchThis website provides pictures, research, a blog, and educational materials about Orca whales in the Puget Sound.
- Kalahari Meerkat ProjectHighlighted in #2017MMM, this project focusing on meerkats is operated by the Kalahari Research Centre.
- Yellowstone EcosystemLearn about the vast Yellowstone ecosystem through field notes and stories.
- North American Bat Monitoring ProgramThis collaborative bat monitoring program is made up of an extensive community of partners across the continent who use standardized protocols to gather data that allow us to assess population status and trends, inform responses to stressors, and sustain viable populations.
- St. Kilda Soay Sheep ProjectResearch about sheep, their ecology and their seasonal patterns.
- Amboseli Baboon ProjectThe Amboseli Baboon Project is one of the longest-running studies of wild primates in the world. Focused on the savannah baboon, Papio cynocephalus, ABRP is located in the Amboseli ecosystem of East Africa, north of Mt. Kilimanjaro.
- Mara Hyena ProjectProfessor Holekamp's behavioral ecology and evolution research on hyenas
- Ngogo Chimpanzee ProjectThe Ngogo Chimpanzee Project Inc.’s mission is to conduct scientific research and maintain the long-term study of the Ngogo community of chimpanzees in Kibale National Park, Uganda, to conserve animal populations throughout the park, and to support the education of local people of all ages.
- Ngorogoro Hyena ProjectWebsite curated by an international team of behavioural biologists based at the Leibniz-IZW in Berlin (Germany) who have been studying spotted hyenas in the Ngorongoro Crater in Tanzania for 26 years.
- 29 Mammals ProjectBroad institute research on mammals with the goal of creating low-coverage genome assemblies and aligning the resulting sequence to the human genome to permit comparative genomic analysis.
More Animal Info Resources
- How Stuff Works - AnimalsFun facts about animals and more.
- Nature on PBSLearn more about your favorite animals.
- WoRMs: World Register of Marine SpeciesThe aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While the highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature. Also includes an excellent photogallery
- Extreme ScienceA place online to find the biggest, baddest, and the best in the world of extremes and learn about the science behind what makes each the most extreme example of its kind.
- Animal NamesNames of males, females, babies and groups of animals.
- Primate FactsheetsFactsheets providing a starting point to learn information about primate species, developed by the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center.
- Atlas of Living AustraliaThe ALA is Australia’s national biodiversity database. Founded on the principle of data sharing – collect it once, share it, use it many times – the ALA provides free, online access to millions of occurrence records to form the most comprehensive and accessible data set on Australia’s biodiversity ever produced
- Mammals of TanzaniaThis site is designed to both introduce the interested novice to the mammals of Tanzania, and serve as an aid to biologists focused on the study and conservation of these special mammals
- Infrared Zoo GalleryInfrared light shows us the heat radiated by the world around us. By viewing animals with a thermal infrared camera, we can actually "see" the differences between warm and cold-blooded animals. A tour of the site gives you a new perspective on feathers, fur and blubber.
More Science Resources
- Ask A BiologistThis site has a large collection of biology learning materials that includes stories, games, activities, videos, and a podcast.
- Ask An AnthropologistThis site has an abundance of anthropology educational resources, games, and content.
- Strange ScienceThis site is NSF KidSites.com approved. It includes an eclectic collection of old illustrations and information about the history of paleontology and biology.
- BioInteractiveSearch award-winning multimedia apps, animations, videos, and more to bring scientific discovery into the classroom.
- PLOSable BiologyAsk A Biologist is intended to serve grades preK-12, and to be available as a resource for teachers and parents. Topics include animals, biomes, birds, and plants.
- National Science Digital LibraryThe National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning.
- Biodiversity Knowledge Integration CenterThis website provides access to our diverse resources and activities including BioKIC's natural history collections.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
