Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

U.S. Civil War (1861-1865): Primary Sources: Periodicals

This guide provides access to both resources restricted to ASU Library affiliates and open access primary source materials which focus on the United States Civil War (1861-1865).

Periodicals Focused on United States Civil War (1861-1865)

America's Civil War (1988- )
Online full-text via ASU Library.
Published by Historynet.com.

Civil War Book Review (1999- )
Open access via LSU Libraries.

Civil War History (1955- )
Online full-text and print holdings via ASU Library.
Published by Kent State University Press.

The Civil War Monitor (2011- )
Published by The Civil War Monitor.

Civil War Navy (2012- )
Published by civilwarnavy.com.

Civil War Times (2002- )
Online full-text and print holdings via ASU Library.
Published by Historynet.com.

Civil War Times: Web Edition Articles (2006- )
Online full-text via ASU Library.
Published by Historynet.com.

Civil War Times Illustrated (1962-2002)
Online full-text and print holdings via ASU Library.
Was published by Historynet.com. Succeeded by "Civil War Times" (see above).

Confederate Veteran (1893-1932)
Print holdings via ASU Library.

Confederate Veteran (1893-1932)
Reprint. Print holdings via ASU Library.

Hallowed Ground
Published by the American Battlefield Trust
For free access to some full-text issues, on the above page, see "View Magazine PDFs" section - which appears between "Print Edition" and "FAQ"

The Journal of the Civil War Era (2011- )
Online full-text via ASU Library.
Published by University of North Carolina Press.
See journalofthecivilwarera.org.

Lincoln Herald (1937-1937)
Print holdings via ASU Library.

Lincoln Herald Archive
Published by The Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum
Access 75 issues as open access full text The Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum

North and South (1997-2013)
Online full-text via ASU Library.
The magazine has been revived as "Series II." See North & South: Marketplace

Old Guard (1863-1870)
Online full-text via ASU Library.
Full-text of all issues available via Internet Archive.

The Rebellion Record; a Diary of American Events (1861-1868)
Print holdings via ASU Library.
Also online full text via ASU Library: 1) Legal Treatises (Gale Primary Sources) and 2) Literature Online (LION)
Online full-text via Hathi Trust Digital Library.

Sentinel (2011- )
Online full-text via ASU Library.
Open access full-text via Federal Deposit Library electronic Collection Archive.

The Southern Bivouac (1882-1887)
Print holdings via ASU Library.
Open access via Hathi Trust Digital Library.
Volumes: 1 (September 1882-August 1883, 2 (September 1883-August 1884), 3 (September 1884-May 1885).
New Series: 1 (June 1885-May 1886), and 2 (June 1886-May 1887)

Southern Historical Society Papers (1876-1959)
Print holdings via ASU Library.
Open access full-text of 1876-1905 via Internet Archive
Also open access via ASU Library/Hathi Trust Digital Library: volumes: 2, 14, 16-17, 30, 32-46

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.