Fashion
Learn from the Fashion Past
Photo by: Christina Sullivan Photo by: Naomi Ellis
Archival Fashion Magazines and Journals
- Fashion Plate Collection LA Library Digital GalleryFashion Plates from the Tessa Digital Collections of the Los Angles Public Library. These plates are from 1780 to 1880 British and American fashion magazines.
- Gazette du bon tonarchival fashion magazines from early 1900s.
- Godey Lady's BookGodey's Lady's Book, a full-text collection of the premier 19th century women’s magazine. This collection provides the complete run of Godey’s Lady’s Book, which published a wide variety of fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, music, and illustrations, including fashion plates. Database includes digital images of illustrations and advertisements.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive offers digitized versions of the U.S. and U.K. editions of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to present, featuring high-resolution images and searchable texts, providing deep insights and detailed indexing of over 150 years of fashion, culture, and societal trends.
- The Met Digital CollectionCostume Institute Collection that contains archival fashion plates from the institute and from the Irene Lewisohn Costume institute collection
- Vogue ArchiveThe Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future.
Museum Collections
Asian Fashion Archive
This Archive is an online resource that highlights Asian culture and fashion
Bata Shoe Museum
The Bata Shoe Museum celebrates the invention of footwear. Having exhibits in person and online of footwear of all different kinds.
Fashion Museum Bath
This collection of historical and contemporary dates back to the 16th century.
The Kyoto Costume Institute
A collection of costumes from the 17th century to the present day.
McCord Museum
The McCord Museum Fashion Collection contains several garments, textiles, and accessories from the past three centuries of Montreal fashion.
The Met Collection
A historical collection that dates back from 4,000 B.C. to recent times. This collection contains textiles, couture, and accessories from the years.
Palais Galliera
The Palais Galliera contains a collection of photographs, clothing, accessories and drawings that reflect some of the richest clothing of France from the 18th century to present day.
Victoria and Albert Museum
The Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) in London, England includes a fashion collection as well as a costume collection and and hosts Fashion in Motion, is a series of live fashion events presented at the V&A.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
