Fashion
Fashion Design and Merchandising Librarian
Need more help?
Library Image Resources for Fashion
- Artstor Collections on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore millions of high-quality, curated images from global museums, archives, and artists. Includes publicly accessible files from JSTOR’s journals and primary sources.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
A dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Peer-reviewed content includes major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world.
- Godey’s Lady’s Book: 1830-1898 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection from a leading 19th-century women’s magazine includes fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, music, and fashion illustrations, along with digital images of advertisements and artwork, offering a rich resource for studying women's history and culture.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive offers digitized versions of the U.S. and U.K. editions of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to present, featuring high-resolution images and searchable texts, providing deep insights and detailed indexing of over 150 years of fashion, culture, and societal trends.
- Peclers+ This link opens in a new window
Account required. Obtain your student activation code for access to Peclers+
Offers organized insights and recommendations from trend books on color, product, and texture based on lifestyles and seasonal themes, along with detailed analyses of over 600 global runway shows and comprehensive trend reports on fashion, beauty, design, and lifestyle trends. Available in English and French.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future.
- WindowsWear (Free Registration required) This link opens in a new windowNote: All students and faculty can create their accounts with their ASU email here.
Please upload your student projects throughout the year to be eligible for WindowsWear's Student Awards www.windowswear.com/studentawards and Mentorship Program www.windowswear.com/mentorship.
WindowsWear is a current and archival collection of retail and visual displays dating back to 1931. The collection provides retailers, designers, brands and creative professionals with photos for competitive research, inspiration and trend ideas over the years as they look to create visuals for today's retail environments.
Online Image Resources
The following online image resources are copyright-free/open-license, free to use, and publicly accessible:
- Getty Open ContentPublic domain images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute.
- MorgueFile Free PhotosPublic image archive for creative work.
- NGA Images (National Gallery of Art)Over 50,000 public domain art images.
- PexelsFree stock images and videos browsable by color and collection.
- PixabayMore than 5 million royalty-free stock images with the ability to discover images by category and color.
- Raw PixelRoyalty-free stock images as well as high resolution public domain images available for creative reuse.
- TagwalkTagwalk is a fashion search engine that allows users to search through
thousands of fashion shows, designers, accessories, and trends by keyword. - UCLA Library Digital CollectionsIncludes thousands of fashion images from across UCLA's collections.
- UnsplashOver 6 million high-resolution images to search and browse, from animals to textures to fashion.
- Wikimedia CommonsMillions of high-resolution images of art, architecture, design, and more.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
