Fashion
Fashion Design and Merchandising Librarian
Need more help?
How to Search Our Catalog
While researching a subject, it can be kind of difficult at times to find what you are looking for. If you are new to searching the ASU Library database, please click on the link to our libguide on familiarizing yourself with our catalog.
You can also search for e-books in some of our databases:
- eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text books from many of the world's leading commercial publishers and university presses. Includes a wide range of scholarly, reference, and professional titles. Subjects covered include Arts & Entertainment; Business & Economy; Computer & Internet; Education; Health; History; Government & Law; Recreation & Sports; Reference; Science & Technology; Social Sciences; Society & Culture.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
A dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Peer-reviewed content includes major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world. Includes the Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books Library, Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases, Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive, Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive, Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library.
New Books
Technical Sourcebook for Apparel Designers (e-book) by
Learn technical design processes and industry standards, such as ASTM and ISO, for apparel production and manufacturing practices. With more than 1,200 images and technical packages for 12 apparel products, the book explains topics like fabric selection, finding seasonal fashion trends, garment construction, and fit evaluation, all so you can cost-effectively meet consumer needs. You'll learn about product categories including women's wear, menswear, and knitwear, as well as how to create a cost sheet and manage product data, to help you develop specification sheets and technical packages for specific markets. The 4th edition has been revised to include the use of sustainable materials, entrepreneurship and the job market, buying seasons as affected by the Covid-19 pandemic and supply chain, sourcing considerations, sizing and fit tips for diverse body types, and more. New to this Edition · Includes new information on sustainability and sourcing · Discusses changes in buying seasons as affected by the Covid-19 pandemic · Delves into the job market, job roles, and entrepreneurship · Updated to include sizing and fit tips for diverse body types STUDIO Features Include · Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips · Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions Instructor Resources · Instructor's Guide to help integrate the text into your classroom · PowerPoint slides for every chapter
ISBN: 9781501392009Publication date: 2024-05-30
Construction Knitting : Knitwear Design with Geometric Shapes (e-book) by
Become the co-designer of your own knitwear, with Construction Knitting. Using a combination of flat and drape patternmaking, Nikki Gabriel's easy-to-follow technique takes an accumulative approach to garment making, assembling knitwear from individually crafted geometric shapes. Readers are guided through each stage: from creating and assembling the shapes to adapting your garments to fit your unique style. Section one covers knitting techniques for fabric structure and composition, along with yarn specifications, while section two delves into the methodology behind construction knitting. With photographic and illustrated demonstrations, easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions, and clear hand-knitting methods, Construction Knitting is well-suited to students, designers and amateur knitters alike.
ISBN: 9781472575746Publication date: 2024-05-23
Latin American and Latinx Fashion Design Today - ¡Moda Hoy! (e-book) by
Accompanying a major exhibition at The Museum at FIT, Latin American and Latinx Fashion Design Today: ¡Moda Hoy! examines Latin American and Latinx fashion design from the past 20 years, asking "What is Latin American fashion design in the 21st century"? The book seeks to explore the sociohistorical influences and cultural dynamics that have propelled the development of the unique sartorial bricolage that is Latin American and Latinx fashion. Through a series of themes and topics favored by contemporary designers - including Indigenous heritage, art, sustainable design, politics, gender, elegance, and popular culture - it highlights established designers with a strong international presence, such as Isabel Toledo, Carolina Herrera, Rick Owens, Oscar de la Renta, Carla Fernández, and Gabriela Hearst. Accompanied by regional brands and emerging talents, and case studies that take an in-depth look into specific designers, and beautifully illustrated in full color throughout, Latin American and Latinx Fashion Design Today is essential reading for fashion enthusiasts who have an overlapping interest in Latin American studies, and all who appreciate the history and visual culture of fashion and Latin America.
ISBN: 9781350343955Publication date: 2024-04-18
Request Books
All current ASU affiliates can request items be held for them at their preferred ASU library service desk.
Current ASU affiliates who reside outside of Maricopa County can request Arizona library items be shipped to their residence free of charge!
To request a book:
- Find an item in the ASU Library One Search and place a request.
- Select Home Address under Personal Delivery as the pickup location in the pull down menu.
- Add your mailing address in the notes field in the request box.
- Requested items will be checked out with the standard loan period for your university status and shipped to the mailing address provided.
- All late fees will apply.
- See fines and fees
All current ASU affiliates can request external library items be held for them at their preferred ASU library service desk.
Current ASU affiliates who reside outside of Maricopa County can request external library items be shipped to their residence free of charge!
To request an item via Interlibrary Loan (ILL):
- Log into My Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD) Account
- Select Update Profile under Profile:
- Select Online-Extended or Outside Phoenix Metro Area for Campus Affiliation
- Select Mail to Home Address for Pickup Location
- Add your physical home mailing address
- Select the New Book Request form:
- Add your physical home mailing address in the notes field.
- Requested ILL items with eligible due dates will be checked out and shipped to the mailing address provided. Due dates for ILL materials vary depending on the lending library.
- All late fees will apply.
- See fines and fees
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
