Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Open Access Resources

Free resources for unrestricted use

General

D O A J : Directory of Open Access Journals 
Covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many languages.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA
Provides access to the nation’s cultural repositories such as Library of CongressHathiTrust, and the Internet Archive

Open Library of the Humanities (OLH)
Open Library of Humanities (OLH): a project exploring a Public Library of Science (PLoS-style model for the humanities and social sciences in academic publishing. | About |

Digital Commons Network (Bepress)
Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from hundreds of universities and colleges. The growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas.

JSTOR-Register & Read
Sign up for free, read-online access to more than five million journal articles on JSTOR. Register & Read program allows anyone read (but not download) up to three articles from hundreds of publishers every two weeks for free. 

JSTOR
Content (nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals) on JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere, freely available to the public for reading and downloading. To access the free content, click on the Advanced Search and make sure that only "Include only content I can access" box is selected.

BLDS Digital Library (Institute of Development Studies)
Contains full-text copies of developing country research from the shelves of the British Library for Development Studies (BLDS). These publications have been made available online to a global audience through partnership agreements between BLDS and research institutes in Africa and Asia.

Cogprints
Electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, Anthropology, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.

Digital Universe
Comprises a network of subject-specific web sites organized by topic into "Portals" – such as the Earth Portal or the Cosmos Portal – with reliable information from trusted sources covering a wide range of subjects. 

EServer.org
An arts and humanities e-publishing co-op based at Iowa State University where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars gather to publish over 35,000 works free of charge.

Global Memory Net
Gateway to the world culture, history and heritage as well as a multimedia and multilingual world digital library.

OAIster 
Collection of freely available, academically-oriented digital resources, many of them full-text. OAIster began at the University of Michigan in 2002 funded by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. In 2009 it transitioned to OCLC (WorldCat).

Oxford Journals
Oxford Journals operates two different modes fully and optional open access journals.

QScience.com
Peer-reviewed, online publishing platform developed by Bloomsbury Qatar Foundation Journals.

Sage Open
SAGE Open publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Accepted articles span the full extent of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

Synergies: Canada's SSH Research Infrastructure
Social Sciences and Humanities research published in Canadian journals, especially in English, is largely confined to print. 

Undergraduate Research Commons
A research portal and publishing resource for undergraduate students at institutions around the world. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool provides free access to peer-reviewed journal articles, capstone and honors theses, fieldwork and class projects, conference proceedings, and other undergraduate scholarship.

VoS: Voice of the Shuttle
Website for humanities research.

E-Books Collections

DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
Provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.

Digital Book Index 
Catalog of electronic books, texts, and documents.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) 
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. More

E-Books on the Web (Multi-index search) 
Locate e-books available for reading from your computer. Most of the e-books are literary classics that are no longer copyright protected.
NOTE: the E-Books Multi-Searcher searches Amazon.com, Digital Book Index, and Google Book Search -- these sites may allow only previews or snippets of a book, and not the book in its entirety.

Google Books
images of 1,000,000+ fully readable public domain books, plus many more copyrighted books available via excerpts and snippets.

International Children's Digital Library
Free access to high-quality digital books from around the world. Browse by age, genre, book length, character types, or even the color of a book's cover. | About | Search by country | Search | Advanced Search |

The Internet Archive
Digitized material in audio, video, or text formats. 

Project Gutenberg
Over 30,000 items, mostly book transcriptions. 

University of Adelaide Press
The University of Adelaide Press publishes peer-reviewed scholarly books authored and edited by its staff.

Hours and Locations