Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Open Access Resources

Free resources for unrestricted use

National Bibliographies and Catalogs Guide

International Research Resources  
This guide is intended as a repository of resources specifically for research using materials produced and collected in other countries. The main resources included here are links to national libraries, national bibliographies and union catalogs.

Reading Europe
This online exhibition exhibition is brought to you by The European Library and the national libraries of Europe. It offers a rare opportunity to view some of the hidden gems from the national libraries of Europe from 18th century English bestsellers to the lost interiors of Russian palaces.

Global Repositories

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
the digitization component of the Encyclopedia of Life, is a consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions. For more info click here.

Bioline International 
Collection of over 70 Open Access journals published in developing countries. Subjects include: tropical medicine, infectious diseases, epidemiology, emerging new diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development.

BLDS Digital Library (The British Library for Development Studies) 
Contains full-text copies of developing country research from the shelves of the British Library for Development Studies (BLDS). These publications have been made available online to a global audience through partnership agreements between BLDS and research institutes in Africa and Asia.

China Map Online
Distributed by the China Data Center of the University of Michigan, the China Map Online offers the largest collection of statistical maps with more than 8 million maps for the demographic and business data of China. 

CIESAS (Centro de Investigaciónes y Estudios Superiores de Anthropología Social-Mexico) 
Government funded access to anthropology and social sciences resources.

Encyclopedia of Life
An online reference source and database for every one of the 1.8 million species that are named and known on this planet.

MedKnow Publications
Collection of 59 medical journals published on behalf of societies and associations, mainly in India. 

OER Africa 
Innovative initiative established by the South African Institute for Distance Education (Saide) to play a leading role in driving the development and use of Open Educational Resources (OER) across all education sectors on the African continent. | About | Search Browse |

OpenBook (Ανοικτή Λογοτεχνία)
Collection of books by Greek authors.

Revues.org
Social sciences articles in French from prominent, open-access journals. (government funded source)  

SciELO
Collection of journals published in countries in Latin America, South Africa, Spain and Portugal. 

 

Global Collections

Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

The European library
Provides online access to the collections of national and university libraries from 48 libraries in Europe.

Eurodocs
Online sources for European history.

Open Knowledge Repository (World Bank) 
Includes published books (2009-present); World Development Reports since 1978; Policy Research Working Papers (2009-present); Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies (2009-present); journal articles  (2007-present) published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO); content in languages other than English; and World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies.

Open Society 
Often referred as Soros Foundation its mission is to build vibrant and tolerant societies whose governments are accountable and open to the participation of all people. | Reports from Regional Offices | 

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development iLibrary (OECD
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.| About OECD iLibrary | OECD Archives |

UNdata
United Nations statistical information from member states on a variety of topics created by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).

UNESCO-Institute for Statistics (UIS)
Primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
 

Hours and Locations