Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Open Access Resources

Free resources for unrestricted use

Articles

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

D O A J : Directory of Open Access Journals 
Covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many languages. |Education|

Ed/ITLib Digital Library (EdITLib Digital Library for Information Technology and Education)
Peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Sage Open
SAGE Open publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Accepted articles span the full extent of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

ASU Open Access Education Journals

  

Association of Mexican-American Educators (AMAE) Journal
The AMAE Journal is a national peer-reviewed journal which is published biannually. It provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Current Issues in Education
An open access peer-reviewed academic education journal sponsored by the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College of Arizona State University and is produced by ASU graduate students. It publishes articles on a broad range of education topics that are timely and have relevance in the field of education (pre-K, K-12, and higher education) both nationally and internationally.

Education Policy Analysis Archives (EPAA/AAPE)
A peer-reviewed, open-access, international, multilingual, and multidisciplinary journal designed for researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and development analysts concerned with education policies.

Education Review
A multi-lingual journal of book reviews.

Open Access Resources

CK-12
Provides open-source content and technology tools to help teachers provide learning opportunities for students globally. |Teachers | Students |

Connexions
A place to view and share educational material made of small knowledge chunks called modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports, an other entities. | About | Search |

Creative Commons- Education
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.

Curriki
A nonprofit K-12 global community for teachers, students, and parents to create, share, and find free learning resources that enable true personalized learning. | About | Resources & Curricula |

DPLA Primary Source Sets (The Digital Public Library of America  )
​Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. 

OER Commons (Open Educational Resources Commons)
Open access class learning materials from around the world since 2007. | Advanced Search |

OER Africa 
Innovative initiative established by the South African Institute for Distance Education (Saide) to play a leading role in driving the development and use of Open Educational Resources (OER) across all education sectors on the African continent. | About | Search | Browse |

The Right to Education Global Database (UNESCO)
A unique portal designed to be a practical tool for monitoring, research and advocacy. It hosts a library of over 1,000 official documents, including constitutions, legislation, and policies on education from nations across the globe.

Open Education Week (every March) 
Coordinated by the OpenCourseWare Consortium, an association of hundreds of institutions and organizations around the world committed to the ideals of open education.  Its goal is to raise awareness about free and open educational opportunities. 

Statistics

Demographic and Social Statistics (UN)
collects data on literacy, educational attainment and school attendance from national statistical offices around the world and disseminates them in tabular form in special issues of the United Nations Demographic Yearbook. More UN statistical resources 

Education Statistics (World Bank EdStats)
The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education. EdStats tools, resources and queries help users visualize and analyze education data.

Education Data (UNESCO)
From pre-primary school enrolment to tertiary graduation rates, the UIS is the leading source for international education statistics. Covering more than 200 countries and territories, the UIS database covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers and financing.

Education GPS (OECD)
The source for internationally comparable data on education policies and practices, opportunities and outcomes. Accessible any time, in real time, the Education GPS provides you with the latest information on how countries are working to develop high-quality and equitable education systems.

Education Policy and Data Center
Serves as a resource for education data, profiles, and data reports on education status at the country and subnational level, research papers on issues and challenges in education in developing and transitional countries, as well as medium-term education projections. 

National Center for Education Statistics   
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. 

Nationmaster - Education
Comparison of education statistics across countries. Includes education spending, average schooling years of adults, female literacy rate, school enrollment, etc. Sources are U.N. publications, OECD, etc. 

United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
|Education | Data Resources |


Additional resources 

Subjects: General

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.