Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Open Access Resources

Free resources for unrestricted use

Science/Medicine

arXiv.org (Cornell University)
Open access to 635,163 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

bioaRxiv
Free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. 

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
the digitization component of the Encyclopedia of Life, is a consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions. For more info click here.

BioMed Central
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.

CERN Document Server
Over 1,000,000 bibliographic records of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, videos and much more.

Chemistry Central
An open access chemistry publisher, operated by BioMed Central and owned by Springer Science+Business Media, committed to the free and widespread dissemination of chemical research. List of journals.

Encyclopedia of Life
An online reference source and database for every one of the 1.8 million species that are named and known on this planet.

Frontiers Journals
Interdisciplinary tiered series of online journals primarily from health sciences disciplines.

Health Sciences Online
Delivers health sciences knowledge from over 50,000 courses, references, guidelines, and other learning resources. Materials are selected from accredited educational sources including universities, governments, and professional societies.

HINARI (Research in Health)
The HINARI Program, set up by WHO together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. More than 7,000 journal titles are now available to health institutions in 109 countries, areas and territories benefiting many thousands of health workers and researchers, and in turn, contributing to improved world health.  

IEEE Xplore®
Access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Open Access articles: after performing a keyword search, click on "Open Access Only" button in the left column. 

Oxford Journals
Titles participating in the Oxford Open Access scheme are broadly included in one or two open access models, either full or optional open access.   

PLoS Journals (Public Library of Science)
PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. There are seven online peer-reviewed scientific and medical PLoS journals:
   -- PLoS One                      --- PLoS Genetics 
   -- PLoS Biology                 --- PLoS Pathogens  
   -- PLoS Medicine              --- PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases
   -- PLoS Computational Biology

Pubmed Central
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Scientific Reports (Nature)
Aa primary research publication from the publishers of Nature, covering all areas of the natural and clinical sciences.

SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen is Springer's new range of fully open access journals, which cover all disciplines within the science, technology, and medicine (STM) fields, giving authors in all areas of science the opportunity to publish open access. List of journals.

U.S. National Library of Medicine: National Institutes of Health
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care. Some of the peer-reviewed articles are full-text.

 

Subjects: General

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.