Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Open Access Resources

Free resources for unrestricted use

Literature

Google Books
images of 1,000,000+ fully readable public domain books, plus many more copyrighted books available via excerpts and snippets.

Free eBooks 
Free literature to download.

The Online Literature Library (Literature.org)
This site is maintained by enthusiasts rather than professional librarians. Contains full and unabridged texts of classic works of English literature.

Discovering Children's Books (British Library)
Collection devoted to  historic children’s literature from medieval fables to contemporary picture books. highlights include original manuscripts, artworks, poems, interviews, drafts and notebooks by renowned authors and illustrators. It brings together children’s literature from four major cultural institutions: the British Library, Seven Stories—The National Centre for Children’s Books, the Bodleian Libraries, and the Victoria and Albert Museum. 

International Children's Digital Library: A Library for the World's Children
A collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.  

Makedonika 
Open access books from North Macedonia. 

Česká čítanka

Victorian Literature and Culture  

Eighteenth-Century Studies
Works of the eighteenth century from the perspectives of literary and cultural studies. Novels, plays, memoirs, treatises and poems of the period  (in some cases, influential texts from before 1700 or after 1800 as well), along with modern criticism.

Victorian Network
An MLA-indexed online journal dedicated to publishing and promoting the best work in Victorian Studies by postgraduate students and early career academics.

History

Eurodocs
Online sources for European history.  

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
For teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in  modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.

World Digital Library (Library of Congress) 
Features significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.  

AnthroBase (Anthropology)
Multilingual, searchable database of articles, theses, essays, reports, conference papers, field-notes, etc., written by anthropologists and others with an interest in social and cultural diversity.

Guide to Law Online (Law)
An annotated guide to sources of information on government and law by region, country or U.S. state prepared by the Law Library of Congress. 

Ravel Law (Law)
Harvard Law School with the support of Ravel Law is digitizing its entire collection of U.S. case law, one of the largest collections of legal materials in the world. The "Free the Law" initiative initiative will provide open access to American case law for the first time in U.S. history. 

E-LIS (Library & Information Science) 
E-LIS is an open access archive to deposit preprints, postprints and other documents in the field of library and information science in electronic format.

EU Bookshop
EU Bookshop is an online bookshop, library and archive of publications dating back to 1952. It contains 110,000 titles and 235,000 corresponding electronic versions (PDFs, e-books) in more than 50 languages, including the 24 official languages of the EU. | About |

PhilArchive (Philosophy) 
Formerly known as the PhilPapers Archive, PhilArchive consists entirely of articles submitted by users. 

Subjects: General

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.