History

Bracero History Archive “The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.”

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press This collection, housed by the University of Arizona, “…documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.”

Our Americas Archive Partnership This collaboration between Rice University, University of Maryland, and Instituto Mora brings together a selection of original historical documents from the Americas.

100 Milestone Documents 100 milestone documents compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle events in United States history from 1776 to 1965. 

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy "To provide American citizens direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society, a core group of current and historical Government publications is being made available for free, permanent, public access via the GPO Access service.” 

Digital History This site includes sources on various aspects of U.S. history, slavery, Mexican American history, and Native American history. These sources include e-textbooks, annotations, primary sources, audio recordings, and images.  

Documenting the American South A collection of sources on Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Digitized primary materials offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.  

History Matters: Many Pasts "Contains almost 1,000 primary documents in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. history. All of the documents have been screened by professional historians and are accompanied by annotations that address their larger historical significance and context. Arranged by time period, starting with the earliest documents." 

Hypertext on American History from the colonial period until Modern Times - Documents
A collection of documents from the Magna Carta to George W. Bush's inaugural address in 2001 that relate to the history of the United States.

Journals of the Lewis & Clark Expedition These digitized journals provide both text and drawings related to the observations of the expedition’s participants.

Making of America (Cornell University); Making of America (University of Michigan)
These both include full texts of primary sources in American social history from 1800 to 1925.  They are particularly strong in the areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. 

TeachingAmericanHistory.org: Document Library This includes letters, speeches, documents, web sites, books, and articles on significant people and events in American political thought and history. 

Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (Digital Library of Ibero-American Cultural Heritage) (Primarily in Spanish) This digital library contains a broad variety of digitized documents, ranging from manuscripts to photographs, from the national libraries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Portugal, and Uruguay. 

Digital Library of the Caribbean This large collection, the result of a multinational collaboration between repositories, contains a wide range of primary sources from countries throughout the Caribbean.  

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera  Continuously updated, this digital collection contains Princeton University’s holdings of ephemeral publications from Latin America and the Caribbean, including items such as postcards, political pamphlets, and playbills. 

Latin American Digital Initiatives “The Latin American Digital Initiatives (LADI) repository is a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities.”

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection This digital collection contains Harvard University’s holdings of 19th-20th century pamphlets from Latin American countries, including Bolivia, Chile, Cuba, Mexico, Paraguay, and Venezuela. 

Latin American Travelogues This site contains a selection of 16th-19th century accounts of travel throughout Latin America and the Caribbean. 

Primeros Libros de las Américas “The Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Americanos del Siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del Mundo project is an international collaboration of more than 25 institutional partners throughout Mexico, Spain, Peru, and the United States that seeks to bring together digitally the first books printed in the Americas before 1601.”

African American History Written documents by and about African Americans. 

African-American Women A select collection of primary source materials from the Special Collections Department at Duke University. 

Africans in America  This site is divided into four segments: The Terrible Transformation, 1450 - 1750; Revolution, 1750 - 1805; Brotherly Love, 1791 - 1831; and Judgment Day, 1831 - 1865. 

Anti-Slavery Literature Project The goal of the Anti-Slavery Literature Project is to increase public access to a body of literature crucial to understanding the African American experience, the hisory of slavery, and early human rights philosophies. These multilingual collections contribute to an educational consciousness of the role of many antislavery writers in creating contemporary concepts of freedom.

Black Studies Center The Black Studies Center combines several invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies (1970-2004), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940). 

From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909 This presents 397 pamphlets from the Library of Congress's Rare Book and Special Collections Division by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials include personal accounts, public orations, organizational reports, and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.

American Women's History: A Research Guide This provides access to selected large primary source collections. 

Five Colleges Archives Digital Access Project This collaboration provides access to digitized versions of archival records and manuscript collections relating primarily to women's history -- particularly women's education at the Five Colleges. 

The Life and Times of Florence Kelley “A digital archive on the life and times of Florence Kelley, the first woman factory inspector in the United States and resident of Hull House.”

National Women's History Project This website provides information and educational materials about the history of women from a variety of cultural backgrounds. 

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 - 2000 This database links to more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 website links pertaining to Women and Social Movements. 

Women Working, 1800 - 1930 This site focuses on the role of women in the United States economy; the collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images, including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts; 3,500 books and pamphlets; and 1,200 photographs.