History

History Resources

General

Academic Search Ultimate
Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
ACLS Humanities Ebook
A curated collection of scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences provides access to foundational texts across disciplines such as history, literature, art, and philosophy.
David Rumsey Map Collection Database
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The David Rumsey Map Collection Database is an historical map collection containing many thousands of maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Alternate titles: David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
De Gruyter Online
An integrated comprehensive research portal for access to primary sources, text collections, reference works, and bibliographies across multiple disciplines.
Includes The University Press Library: a digital library of eBook collections from 16 prestigious university presses: Cornell University Press, University of California Press, The University of Chicago Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, NYU Press, University of Hawai'i Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, Princeton University Press, Penn State University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of Toronto Press, University of Texas Press, Yale University Press, and Columbia University Press.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Coverage: 1861+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses that includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and provides strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Eight Centuries
Coverage: 1106-1960
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). 8C aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals in 30+ languages. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images. Links to open access and subscription full-text sources are included where available.
Alternate titles: 19th Century Masterfile, Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century
HathiTrust Digital Library
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
HathiTrust is a collaborative partnership of major research institutions and libraries worldwide. It is a shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. It is an emerging repository which has collection spans over several centuries, and in hundreds of languages.
Access Information: HathiTrust Digital Library does not permit download or viewing the full text of books that are still under copyright (typically published since 1923). Only materials that are no longer under copyright may be viewed online and/or downloaded. To download a book, please use the Institutional Login button, and login with your ASU User ID & Password.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Database covers the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to present with indexing to historical articles from more than 1800 journals in over 40 languages published since 1955. Citations to books, dissertations and theses are included plus the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books. The related disciplines of archeology, anthropology and sociology are also covered.
Coverage: 1954+
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.
Coverage: 1907-1984
JSTOR
Access millions of articles, books, and primary sources, focusing on back issues of scholarly journals; an essential resource for research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes AI assistant: JSTOR's interactive research tool.
Project MUSE Journals and Books
A collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals and e-books from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers, and scholarly societies, offering full-text content in literature, history, arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Retraction Watch Database
The Retraction Watch Database is the largest and most comprehensive source for finding article retractions, notices of concern, etc. It includes more than 18,000 retracted papers and conference abstracts dating back to the 1970s.

Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes biographical information on notable people from antiquity to 1983, found in resources published from 1946 to 1983.
Coverage: 1946-1983
Bloomsbury History: Theory and Method
A digital resource dedicated to historiography and the examination of historical theory and methods using a global approach, featuring scholarship in the form of exclusive articles contributed by historians from many different countries.
Cambridge Archive Editions Online (EastView)
Access thousands of digital historical documents from the UK National Archives, focusing on the political and national heritage of East and Southeast Asia, the Near and Middle East, North America, and the Slavic, Balkan, and Caucasus regions.
For assistance using the archive read the CAOE User Guide
Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Histories Online provides full text online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. (Current coverage includes works published through 2016). It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. This resource is particularly useful for providing in-depth historical context. It is also a great resource for online history students.
Coverage: Works published through 2016
Film Scripts Online
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
American Film Scripts contains authorized versions of over 1000 screen plays with bibliographic information about the writers and movie characters. Researchers can browse by title or search scripts by character, scene, nationality, age, subject, or year of writing.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Coverage: Ancient History
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides links to the full text of primary sources in ancient history.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Coverage: Varies
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides links to the full text of primary sources in history. Includes sections for ancient, medieval, and modern history, as well as for African, East Asian, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, Gay and Lesbian History, Womens History, and the History of Science.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Coverage: Medieval History
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides links to the full text of primary sources in medieval history
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Coverage: Modern History, 1300 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provide links to the full text of primary sources in modern history.
Oxford Art Online
A gateway resource that includes: Grove Art Online, a reference for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Covers information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics.
Coverage: 1998+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 14
Oxford Bibliographies: Art History
A guide to scholarly literature in the field of art and architectural history, covering major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of biographies of individuals who shaped British history and culture, highlighting figures whose impacts—positive, negative, or unusual—left a lasting legacy.
Maximum Concurrent Users: 3
Oxford Handbooks Online: Law
An ambitious project that shapes law into a global discipline, capturing the evolving research on law from diverse methodological perspectives. It leverages online publication for quick dissemination and systemic interconnection. Coverage from 2017.
Includes the following titles: American Sports Law, Citizenship, Corporate Law and Governance, Intellectual Property Law, International Organizations, Islamic Law, Law, Regulation and Technology, the Canadian Constitution, and the Indian Constitution.
Oxford Reference
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Oxford Reference Online brings together encyclopedias and scholarly reference titles from many of Oxford University Press language and subject reference works, into a single cross-searchable resource.
Alternate titles: Oxford Digital Reference Shelf

Economist Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources)
A searchable collection of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to present (with the exception of the last five years). Each weekly issue contains news reporting and analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Eighteenth Century Journals draws together material from some of the finest archives across the UK and the US representing the rich variety of the eighteenth century press. It makes available unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals online conveying the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. While the journals were published predominantly in the UK, there are items published in other English-speaking areas such as India.
PAO- Periodicals Archive Online
Coverage: 1770-1995
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
It contains an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. ASU access includes collection 1-7.
Alternate titles: Periodicals Archive Online

Associated Press Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
Extensive historical news coverage, imagery, and internal documents from the mid-1800s through the twentieth century, supporting research across multiple disciplines.
Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
International repository for archaeological data and resources.
Alternate titles: tDAR
Parker Library on the Web
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
An interactive, web-based workspace created by Cambridge Corpus Christi College and Stanford University, designed to support research and teaching associated with the manuscripts in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. The database provides high-quality images of manuscripts, as well as bibliographic information and summaries of manuscript contents. Works in a variety of languages: Old and Middle English, French, Latin, Greek, and Arabic.
PBS Video Collection
A collection of over 1,600 streaming videos, including documentaries and series covering a wide range of topics such as science, history, art, and business from one of television’s most trusted networks.
World Digital Library Collection
Offers open access to a curated collection of rare texts, maps, photographs, and audiovisual materials from diverse global cultures, maintained digitally by the Library of Congress.

Border and Migration Studies Online
Provides historical context and diverse perspectives on border and migration issues across over 30 global border areas, featuring 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images covering topics like refugee camps, human trafficking, and undocumented migration.
Global Terrorism Database
Open source database of terrorism events from 1970 forward. Published by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) at the University of Maryland.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
A multilingual database covers journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600--1926 (Gale Primary Sources)
Consists of Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800--1926 (Gale Primary Sources)
Provides legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926 with full-text searching.
Manchester Studies in Imperialism
When the Studies in Imperialism series was founded the emphasis was laid upon the conviction that ‘imperialism as a cultural phenomenon had as significant an effect on the dominant as on the subordinate societies’. With well over a hundred titles now published, this remains the prime concern of the series. Cross-disciplinary work has indeed appeared covering the full spectrum of cultural phenomena, as well as examining aspects of gender and sex, frontiers and law, science and the environment, language and literature, migration and patriotic societies, and much else.
Political Extremism and Radicalism (Gale Primary Sources)
Primary sources on far-right, fascist, and radical left movements, providing insights into fringe political groups through rare materials that support research on diverse ideologies and contemporary issues such as gender, race, religion, and civil rights.
Throughlines
Free, curated teaching materials to help college educators integrate premodern critical race studies into their courses, including lectures, syllabi, and classroom activities.
Affiliated with ASU and Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Urban Studies Abstracts
A bibliographic research database offering citations and summaries of articles on urban affairs, community development, urban history, and more, crucial to urban studies. It serves as an essential resource for studying cities and regions across various relevant disciplines.
World News Connection Archive
Coverage: November 1995 – December 31, 2013
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
World News Connection (WNC) Archive is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. It covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. It includes translations and English language versions from newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals and non-classified technical reports. Regions included are Central Eurasia, East Asia, Near East & South Asia, China, East Europe, West Europe, Latin America and Sub-Saharan Africa.

Database of Latin Dictionaries
This database links Latin terms to vernacular equivalents (English, French, German) and offers deep connections between dictionary entries, allowing users to explore meanings, translations, and historical word usage in context.
Library of Latin Texts
A searchable corpus of Latin literature from antiquity to modern times, including classical, patristic, medieval, and neo-Latin texts in edited versions.
Coverage: 240 BC (Livius Andronicus)- 1960s (Second Vatican Council)
Loeb Classical Library
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The digital Loeb Classical Library provides electronic access to the classic series of Greek and Latin literature. The database includes the complete print series and covers all literary, historical, philosophical, medical, and religious texts in Greek and Latin, with English translation. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Alternate titles: Digital Loeb Classical Library
Patrologia Latina
Coverage: 200-1216 AD
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. Contains works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian to the death of Pope Innocent III. Includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus & indexes, Migne's column numbers, & references.

Early English Books Online
From the first book published in English in 1473 to 1700, the EEBO contains over 125,000 titles printed in the British Isles and British North America.
Middle English Compendium
Coverage: 1100-1500
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Connects to the online editions of three major Middle English resources: Middle English Dictionary (MED), a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on bibliographies in MED, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. Also provides links to other related sources online.