History

Academic Search Ultimate Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
Tip: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.

America: History and Life 
Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time. 

Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies (International Medieval Bibliography Online (1967+) Index to journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages published worldwide starting in 1967. Includes citations on over 300,000 articles on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Cambridge Histories Online A truly fantastic site to gain historical context and overview for a very wide variety of historical eras, areas, topics and subjects. This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research

Eight Centuries,1106 - 1960 Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). 8C aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals in 30+ languages. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images. Links to open access and subscription full-text sources are included where available.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A newly incorporated, non-profit research project to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), by creating online bibliographies.

JSTOR Includes full text
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

LexisNexis Congressional Includes full text
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info. 

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1945; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer, 1791 - 2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1987; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2007; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1994

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses that includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and provides strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content., 1861+

Chicano Database
(1967+) Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1990+    Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) features a full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard.

Handbook of Latin American Studies, 1935+   Selected, annotated bibliography on Latin America edited by the Library of Congress'sHispanic Division. Alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index, 1970+  Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, &Hispanics in the Unite States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930: Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.   Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, this website includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs.

Index Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Produced by Cambridge University Library, records cover almost a century of publications with some as old as 1906.  Includes works written about the Middle East and the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 

Manchester Studies in Imperialism  When the Studies in Imperialism series was founded the emphasis was laid upon the conviction that ‘imperialism as a cultural phenomenon had as significant an effect on the dominant as on the subordinate societies’. With well over a hundred titles now published, this remains the prime concern of the series.  

Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Latin American History  The Oxford Research Encyclopedia provides readers with current, peer-reviewed, scholarship on the social history of Latin America from pre-Columbian to modern times.

PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas    This is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.

Russian Social Science and Humanities Journals:  Includes materials from newspapers, journals, government documents, dissertations, etc. from Russia. While it is primarily a Humanities and Social Sciences database, Science and Technology,Medicine, and Agriculture are also covered.

These excellent databases are either specifically related to an academic discipline or topic. 

Education:

Education Full Text:  Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations,vocational education, etc.  6/1983+

ERIC (Proquest): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

ERIC (via Department of Education, 1966+): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal and ERIC Document citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present. The collection includes articles from journal and non-journal education literature. Provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. 

Business:

ABI/INFORM Complete:  ABI/INFORM Complete™ is a comprehensive business database of articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. 1923+

Criminal Justice: 

Criminal Justice Abstracts: This resource includes full text covering major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies, and includes an informative summary of the findings, methodology.  1968+

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database(Proquest):  The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research.

Law, Political Science and Public Affairs:

CQ Library    (CQ Weekly and CQ Researcher)  (1983+) A service from Congressional Quarterly Inc. that provides access to two of CQ's premier publications, the CQ Weekly and The CQ Researcher.

Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History (1754+) 
HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library

Legal Periodicals Retrospective  (1908-1981) retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.

Nexis Uni  Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotes; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; & news transcripts  

LexisNexis Congressional
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

PAIS International    (Public Affairs Information Service)
(1972+) Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

Literature:

Literature Online  Includes fully-searchable texts, reference works, bibliographies, catalogues, & links to relevant websites. Includes American Poetry; English Bible; Shakespeare; English Drama & Poetry; Biographical Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia; Dictionary, etc.

Literature Resource Center  Includes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists &other writers. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism.

MLA International Bibliography  Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Psychology, Sociology & Social Services:

Family Studies Abstracts: Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

PsychInfo: Includes PsycLIT. Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics,education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.  1887+

SocIndex with Full Text:  SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Social Services Abstracts (1980+) Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews

Sociological Abstracts  Very useful database particularly for social and ethnic history -- covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc. 

Religion

ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS  (ATLAS Full Text Plus 1949-) (1949+) American Theological Association Database covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes citations from journals, essays, and book reviews.

Women's Studies

Women's Studies International, 1972+  Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index: Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.