Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History

History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

Bibliographical Guides to the Literature

The term "bibliographical guide" refers to a bibliography which surveys an entire field by identifying the most important reference works, including other bibliographies. It serves to open up the literature for the beginning student and points the way to further research. 

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical  Literature. New York: Oxford  University Press, 1995. 3rd ed.
Lists, with brief notes, the most important monographs and articles in every field of history. U.S. history is in  volume 2, sections 39-44. 

 

Fritze, Ronald. Reference Sources in History : An Introductory Guide. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1990.  
Covers much the same ground as Prucha (below) but includes foreign countries as well as the United States.  


Harvard Guide to American History. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1974.  
An indispensable guide for students in this field. Vol. 1 includes sections on research methods and materials, bibliographies, biographies and personal records, and histories of special subjects. There are essays on history as a literary art, writing for publication and book reviewing. Vol. 2 is arranged chronologically.

 

Iggers, Georg G. International Handbook of Historical Studies. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1979.

 

Prucha, Francis. Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994.  2nd ed. 
An excellent source of information on the availability of library catalogs, bibliographies of special topics, periodical and newspaper indexes, oral history, biography, national archives, government publications, databases, and much more. Essential for all graduate students. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.