Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East


These works are used to locate biographies of important people from all countries.

Garaty, John A., ed.  American National Biography. New York : Oxford University Press, 1999. 24v.
CT213 .A68 1999  Hayden Stacks, West Reference

Provides the most up to date  biograpical information.  This is the successor to the DAB, see below.  

Biography and Genealogy Master Index  Indexes current reference sources & the retrospective works that cover individuals, both living & deceased, worldwide. Covers biographical dictionaries; who's whos; subject encyclopedias with biographical entries; literary criticism; & other sources.

Biography Index A Cumulative Index to Biographical Material in Books and Magazines. New York: Wilson, 1949-  .
A valuable index to biographical material. Includes an index by profession.


Dictionary of American Biography (DAB). New York: Scribners Sons, 1928-80. also 1964. 
The DAB is the standard source for scholarly biographies of people who made a significant contribution to American life. The bibliographies at the end of the articles are particularly useful as guides to further research. The latest supplement(Ten) includes Americans who died during the period 1976-1980. 
Dictionary of American Biography. Comprehensive Index through Supplement 10   


Dictionary of National Biography. 22 vols. London; New York: Oxford University Press, 1885-1901.
The standard biographical work for Great Britain. Companion set to the Dictionary of American Biography.


Lobies, Jean-Pierre. IBN: Index Bio-bibliographicus Notorum Hominum. Osnabruck: Biblio Verlag, 1972- . Irreg.
An index to bio-bibliographical information in some two thousand collective works covering all periods and countries. Use it to locate information on the most obscure individuals as well as the better known.



Michaud, J. F. Biographie Universelle Ancienne et Moderne. 82 vols. Paris: Michaud freres, 1811-62.
The most important of the large dictionaries of universal biography. Still useful because of the high standard of scholarship.


The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. New York : J.T. White, 1898-1984. 
E176 .N28   Storage
Also called Permanent series because from v. 19 (1926) on it contains biographies of only deceased persons. 
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. An illustrated collection of remarkable people in any walk of life.  A must use resource for any history of Britain and its peoples.

Hours and Locations