Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History

History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

Using Reference Sources

Reference sources take many forms and include well known types such as dictionaries and encyclopedias but also include indexes, biblographies, guides to literature within a discipline, directories and biographical sources with each type of resource having a specific purpose. Reference sources are generally those in which you look for specific and concise information and are meant for quick use rather than for long term use or cover-to-cover reading. 

Sources listed in this section include a mix of print and online reference sources available in the ASU Library.

General Reference, Dictionaries and Encycopedias for History

 

Books in Print  The only complete record of in-print and forthcoming books published and distributed in the U.S. which are available to the general public or trade for single or multiple copy purchases. Contains over 1.2 million books of all kinds.

Cambridge Histories Online  A truly fantastic site to gain historical context and overview for a very wide variety of historical eras, areas, topics and subjects.  This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  a searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Washington: Library of Congress, 1962-. 
Z 881.A1 U376 Hayden Journals, Storage, AZ Historical Foundation

An index to manuscript collections on any subject located in American repositories.

Oxford Companion to World Exploration  The Oxford Companion to World Exploration offers information on all topics of exploration worldwide, including advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age. In addition to examining the lives and expeditions of heroic and influential explorers, the book covers navigational and marine sciences and ranges from ancient cultures through modern space exploration.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History  Includes original articles by noted scholars from many countries. The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World  The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History  The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, captures the experiences of women throughout history. It contains over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.

Oxford English Dictionary  Regarded as the most authoritative & comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, & the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries

Hours and Locations