This list of broadcasting and publishing directories are almost all arranged by geography. Most are by country or state and then by city. More related items are on the list under Advertising/Media Directories.
- Association of American University Presses Directory (book)
If you need to know what unvirsity press publishes in what topical areas, this it the directory to use. There is more information on each press in this directory than in most of the others listed that include publishers.
- Bowker's News Media Directory (book)
old title: Working Press of the Nation. (book)
This 3 volume work provides the names of syndicated columns, writers, reporters, and editors. For each of the newspapers, magazines, newsletters, TV, and radios stations this work provides the basic address information, material requirements, deadlines, and executives.
- Cabells Directory of Publishing Opportunities (books)
Business: Accounting; Economics & Finance; Management; and Marketing
Educational Curiculum & Methods;
Educational Psychology & Administration; and
Educational Technology & Library Science
Psychology & Psychiatry
These directorise list the scholarly journals and their publication requirements, from the mechanics of the manuscript layout and style to the topics accepted. Of particular interest is the detailed criteria and the review process information. If there are any submission fees, that is also noted. There is no indication in these works that advertising is accepted. For that we use Ulrichsweb.
- Editor & Publisher International Yearbook. (book)
This work does NOT provide any information about the city or region the newspaper is published in, but the existence of a newspaper at all in some cities of the world can be important for finding out more about the area. Many will subscribe to the newspaper of the locale to find out more about the area. This does give the language of the newspaper. The least information provided for each newspaper is the address and telephone number. The most information will be the names of all department/section editors and managers, news wire services, equipment, specifications, advertising rates, special sections, fax number, price and circulation figures.
- Editor and Publisher Market Guide. (book)
Analyzes over 1,500 U.S. and Canadian communities where a daily newspaper is published. Information included covers location, principal industries, climate, retail outlets, daily newspaper circulation, market rankings, forecasts, population growth, disposable personal income, and retail sales.
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. (online or book)
Although this is a directory to publications and broadcasting, it is arranged by state and city of publication/broadcast with a snippet of information on the city. It is useful for locating a newspaper to subscribe to before moving to a location. Good coverage of the weeklies and more rural area newspapers.
- LMP: Literary Market Place (book)
ILMP: International Literary Market Place (book)
This covers the entire book publishing industry from the book manufacturers, publishers, editorial services, literary agents, advertising & marketing, sales & distribution, associations, events, awards & prizes, and other related services. Each entry includes basic directory information, web site, email, key personnel, imprints, subject coverage & criteria, ISBN prefix, and rights information. The international volume also contains brief information on the industry and government control in each country.
This web site links to all the newspaers, radio, & television web sites from around the world.
- Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the United States. (book)
A basic directory to the publishing industry including audio, software, and vieda producers and maufacturers. The main arrangement is by company with a geographic index and an index to ISBN prefixes.
SRDS Newspaper Advertising Source. (book)
SRDS Radio Advertising Source. (book)
SRDS TV & Cable Source. (book)
These three SRDS services each have an identical map and a "State, County, City, Metro Area Data" table at the beginning of each state's entries. Data include population totals plus separate black and Hispanic figures, household income, household expenditures by type, and number of automobiles.
- Television and Cable Factbook. (book)
Now published in 3 volumes over a two year time span, the Cable and Services volumes are published in the same year and the Stations volume is published the next year. The Cable volume is probably the most useful to those who plan to relocate a family within the U.S. This volume is arranged by state and city. Each cable system listed under each city includes a list of channels offered and pay options. Cross-references are provided for some cities. Be sure to check all the suburb names in the larger metropolitan areas. In the last section of the Service volume are all the cable industry statistics. Some of these tables do provide city level statistics. The Stations volume includes Arbitron ratings information with each station listing and for the metropolitan areas.
find print editions
"Ulrichsweb.com is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world." Each entry provides the publication status and basic information along with the abstracting & indexing access; other formats and editions; publisher information; advertising, rights, and demographics; and reviews of the publication.
- Writer's Market (book)
The subtitle is "Where & How to Sell What You Write." It has that type of helpful information, but the directory portion is what is of interest. This lists the usual directory information, what they publish in fiction & nonfiction, percent of first-time authors published. tips, and recent titles. The listeings are grouped by book publishers, consumer magazines, trade journals, playwriting, screenwriting, greeting cards, and contests & awards.